Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These were good, and very easy. Just be sure to measure everything right. I had a little too muc cream and a little too much cinnamon, and they ame out very strong. Next time I will try them filled with toasted almonds or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merrij
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made these for a st patrick's day potluck. I doubled the recipe, and added cocoa to the cinnamon. They came out well, although not especially potato-like. I guess you have to use your imagination. I did not like them, but most of the people did. They were very fast and easy but too sweet for me. I won't make again, but i bet others will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great recipe!! Tasted just as I remember them. I did add a little vanilla, and I only needed 1 T of cinnamon for a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These were just ok. Overly sweet, and too much cinnamon. Perhaps I'll try using unsweetened coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
very quick, very simple and very tasty! Made them in 5 mins. Perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Super easy recipe and you really can't tell that you are missing any ingredients. Yes, they are super sweet...but that is just how they are supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made these for St. Patrick's day, and took them to work...what a hit!! Super Easy, although I did have to Quadruple the recipe....mmmmm thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Bob's girl~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Make sure to put the sugar on second. Easier to stir with your hands. I doubled the recipe and used about the same amount of cinnamon. Might work well with cinnamon sugar mix, since I work with pretty strong cinnamon. I ended up rolling them instead of shaking them around in a bag, and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer K.
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Awesome Irish potatoes! This recipe is just like the ones I remember getting from a bakery in Pennsylvania (Philly area). I actually made a bunch for a party and used amounts the recipe says to use for 120 servings. It sounds like alot but it definitely didn't make 120 balls. I used 1 cup less of confectioners sugar because of the reviews here saying the recipe was too sweet. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the recipe. One tip is to not use a lot of cinnamon in the bag. Only put maybe 1-2 Tablespoons in the bag and place about 6 or 8 balls in it and shake. When I placed all of the recommended cinnamon in the bag the potatoes had too much on them and tasted awful, a mouthful of cinnamon. ick. One other tip is to have one hand slightly wet with water---when rolling this keeps the balls moist and allows them to roll up nicely. Great recipe overall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe truely upholds what a Philadelphia Irish Potato is suppose to be! The only thing I added was a teaspoon of vanilla extract, but besides that this recipe was GREAT!! Exactly how I remembered them tasting when I had them many years ago when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States