Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I loved that these were ready to eat in two minutes. The downside for me were that they were too sweet. That said, my head is swimming with a ton of variations. I did not have cream so I used half & half which worked fine to hold everything together. I would make these again but not use sweetened coconut (which is what I had on hand). I could also see rolling them in melted chocolate/cocoa (to make coconut bon bons) or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
They're easy & taste just like the ones I remember from growing up. A favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Quick and easy and absolutely delicious, especially for coconut lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
If you like VERY sweet, then this is the recipe for you. I like sweet, rich goodies, but this was too much for me. We got also got too much cinnamon on them when shaking them in the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These are delightful little treats for people of all ages to enjoy. I had a lot of fun shaping and coating the 'potatoes'--although, some people might like to cut in half powdered sugar and half cinnamon for the coating, I personally enjoyed the strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made these for st patrick's day...my picky daughters loves them. They were easy to make and I used milk instead of cream (all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very easy to make. Were a hit at family reunion. Very sweet. Added a bit more cream to help bind. The kids loved helping me roll into cinnamon. Great for letting the kids help. very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very easy and tasty. Had to add a little more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I added an extra tablespoon of cream for binding, and these turned our really well. They taste even better chilled, and the combination of the cinnimon with the sweet center almost reminds me of rice pudding. I will definitely be making them again, especially since I got rave reviews from my husband who is not even a coconut fan. These woudl also be great to make with kids since the dough can be made so quickly and they can make the individual candies themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I made these last second for some St. Patty's giggles, and fed them to two guys who don't normally like coconut. They loved 'em. They never really firmed up, but I was told that's part of their charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States