Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As another reviewer wrote, I always add buttermilk. My son loves them both warm off the griddle or then fried in the bacon grease when we're having an Ulster Fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect tatty bread. Those having problems with the dough havnt dried off their spuds first, it's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
These taste delicious but, and this could be because I used cold leftover mashed potatoes, they didnt hold together like a biscuit. They were like I plopped some mashed potatoes in a skillet and fried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I make mine a little differently. I use left over mashed potatoes, add a little baking power and then start adding flour until it has the consistency of pie dough. After rolling it out, I fry it in margarine until brown on both sides. When they are done I put some butter on top. I usually make a lot so I freeze the extra, uncooked potato bread on cookie sheets and then put them in zip lock bags to cook later. So very bad for you, but so, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Tried making this for St. Patrick's Day this year. What an epic fail! Just a huge potato and flour mess!! Went straight from the cutting board to the trash. No matter how much flour I added while trying to make a "dough" and knead it, it did nothing. Was attempting to try something new but I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong...mine were practically impossible to cook. I thought the taste was good (because I added lots of seasonings), but the dough was so sticky, even with extra flour, that they would not stay together or form a shape for anything when I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
this turned out good. However I did add spices such as oregano and pepper after I read the comments noting they were bland. my biggest problem was that the cooking time was way off. each side needed 10 minutes and not 3 as noted. this is a big difference it changes the recipe from quick and easy to long and tiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My Scottish mother-in-law who emigrated to Canada used to make these. She called them potato scones. She always fried them in bacon fat and we put HP sauce on them. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This can go into the 'Penny Pincher' column. We always save left-over mashed potatoes (refrigerated, of course) to make our version; we call them potatoe cakes, sort of the size of crab cakes or small pancakes. Additives welcome: onion, peppers, spinach, carrot, celery, spices, etc.. t:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Farl's are wonderful and this is the perfect recipe. I notice a lot of people saying they needed to double the flour - I find that it depends on the water content of the potatoes. The dryer the potato - the lesser the amount of flour. You are after all making a dough. it is very important to let the potatoes dry on a warm stove. I've been known to put mine in the oven for a bit on warm. I do also add a bit more butter - and thats just for personal taste (and in case I over-dry! :)) These are a wonderful comfort food and in these days - this recipe can be used as a base for a wonderful main dish add a veggie over top with a bit of meat a bit of gravy, sort of like a pot pie YUMMY a very very economical and delicious meal! or for breakfast, add crumbled cooked bacon to your dough and serve with fried eggs over top! I've even tried rolling this dough around pre-cooked hotdogs and I got to tell you, it was wonderful! (but thats just me :)) - for changing the recipe up - Try adding rosemary, or dill. Plenty of Garlic... and yum onion! Grate and dry your onion with the potatoes. instead of butter try butter and sourcream - or sour cream alone. The sky's the limit. Thanks Ita for the perfect Farls recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States