Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We had these with the Ulster Fry-Up, and although I had told myself beforehand that I'd have only one wedge, I ate so many that I'd hate to admit to the actual count. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I usually make boxty for our StP's dinner, but I saw these and thought I'd give them a trial run. I can't say I liked them. I found I needed WAY more flour to make the dough pliable, and they really didn't achieve the light fluffy texture that farls should have. I think I'll try my luck with Ita's farl recipe that uses buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
i made these for st pactricks day for my bf ... i did a mistake and added icing sugar and honey with them... dont try it ... the are ment to be salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra George

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Made this on St Patricks Day as part of an Ulster Fry-up breakfast. My husband really liked them and my 4 year old daughter and I thought they were ok. The recipe was very easy but I did have to add quite a bit more flour than the recipe called for. Might try adding some onion and herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
These potato pancakes don't have any flavor. I tried making them in a pan with flour, then I tried frying some of them in oil. The fried ones had a little flavor, but overall they were really blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I used about twice the flour butter and salt, and they turned out great. I also put a pat of butter on each piece before I served them, We all really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
These are delicious! I followed the PR's suggestion and doubled the butter and flour...mmmm...betcha can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were delicious! I added a little onion powder to the dough mixture - this was a BIG help! I used bacon grease to fry the second batch instead of using flour - this was also quite tasty. They were good either way, really... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
didn't turn out right at all. would not make again. seems like they need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
To those folks who complained about blandness: This is a biscuit. A quick bread devised in a time of dearth in order to survive. It's not a cookie nor a main course. It's easy and filling and tasty and a good foil for a myriad of savory foods if you happen to be fortunate enough to have something else for an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States