Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
i make these all the time for my husband i am the only one other then his granda that know how to make these..if you dont wont to use fresh potatoes you can use deb (instant potato flakes) they turn out great aswell...also in stead of rolling it out as i piece when we have barbeques i roll them into balls then put them on the bbq and flatten them out... once you have dry cooked them you can place them in the fridge and next day when you make bacon and eggs fry bacon then eggs in left over fat fry the farls they taste awsome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used leftover mashed potatos, added a bit more flour then recommended and added some buttermilk and they came out alright. I think next time I'll try some garlic and parmesan, or maybe red pepper flakes to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
My first batch wasn't working. I think my potatoes where larger than medium so I had to keep adding flour to make it dough-like and then it worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I was raised on these but we just called them potato pancakes because my Mom and Grandmother made them into individual cakes. I add a little onion and garlic powder and always serve with a little butter on top. By doing individual cakes they are easier to spoon on the pan and flatten and 1/4 of flour is just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made the recipe using whole wheat flour, and it worked fine. I used the onion powder suggestion. I also cooked the potatoes in chunks with the skin on; it peeled off easily. Great on a cold day. We had them with sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
If you add buttermilk to the recipe, it makes the dough more pliable, also the griddle must be at a very low temperature.My granny used to make these when I was growing up in Ireland, and she always added butter milk.I add crushed garlic to mine now, and sometimes basil.You can even add mashed veg to get your kids to eat them, taste good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I'm not patient enought to boil fresh potatoes so I used instant mashed potatoes and mixed in rice flour because I'm gluten intollerant. My husband keeps trying to get me to make them because he loves them so much. We "Americanize" them by adding shredded cheddar cheese, bacon bits, and for me, sour cream. OMG so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe is a good basic platform to start from. From this recipe, I went about milling around the kitchen to make it easier and a bit quicker. What I came up with: 1 pouch of 'instant' mashed potatoes following the box's normal cooking directions worked great. I added about 2 tablespoons more butter. I started with adding a cup of flour, and from there, I kept adding 1/4 cup flour until the mix reached a consistency similar to bread (but still slightly sticky). I hand patted out larger rounds (make sure you have extra flour on hand) and fried them up in a mix of oil and butter. *Make sure the 'patties' are thin, because they really solidify and puff up a bit, which makes them kind of thick to eat*. Other than that, added herbs and bit more salt helped. You can butter the end result to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe but it either did not turn out right or it just was not the best, nothing like my dad use to make.I even tried to do it again with double the flour and butter... I will probably try a differnt recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
To those folks who complained about blandness: This is a biscuit. A quick bread devised in a time of dearth in order to survive. It's not a cookie nor a main course. It's easy and filling and tasty and a good foil for a myriad of savory foods if you happen to be fortunate enough to have something else for an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States