Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Farl's are wonderful and this is the perfect recipe. I notice a lot of people saying they needed to double the flour - I find that it depends on the water content of the potatoes. The dryer the potato - the lesser the amount of flour. You are after all making a dough. it is very important to let the potatoes dry on a warm stove. I've been known to put mine in the oven for a bit on warm. I do also add a bit more butter - and thats just for personal taste (and in case I over-dry! :)) These are a wonderful comfort food and in these days - this recipe can be used as a base for a wonderful main dish add a veggie over top with a bit of meat a bit of gravy, sort of like a pot pie YUMMY a very very economical and delicious meal! or for breakfast, add crumbled cooked bacon to your dough and serve with fried eggs over top! I've even tried rolling this dough around pre-cooked hotdogs and I got to tell you, it was wonderful! (but thats just me :)) - for changing the recipe up - Try adding rosemary, or dill. Plenty of Garlic... and yum onion! Grate and dry your onion with the potatoes. instead of butter try butter and sourcream - or sour cream alone. The sky's the limit. Thanks Ita for the perfect Farls recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My mom made these with the left over mashed potatoes when I was a kid. We called them potato cakes. My dad was Irish but I just thought it was another way not to waste food. With 11 kids to feed nothing went to waste.I make them and like some of the others, add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My family learned to make these years ago when we moved to Canada from Northern Ireland. Also Soda Farls because you can't get either here, lol. These are actually made to griddle, but then fry in bacon grease or lard, then we put HP sauce on them. Yummy! Same as the Soda Farl, after grilling you fry in whatever grease you want and either eat with an egg on top or HP sauce. This is a family favorite for us. The soda farl tastes good just eating right off the griddle, but these I have always perferred them after you fry them. (but you still have to griddle them first before you fry) Anyways, that is just my two cents, lol. Enjoy. Oh, and the key to these turning out is to dry your potatos after boiling as the OP said. If you don't dry out your potato, it will be too mushy with the flour. And with these and with Soda farl, you need to be willing to adjust how much flour you use. There can be lots of different factors that affect how much flour goes in. And the soda Farl is the same thing with the buttermilk. Sometimes it is say one cup and other times you might use 1 1/4 or even 1 1/2 cups. Once you get to know what the dough for either should look and feel like, you just make your adjustments with the ingredients. If you ask some of the older generations that made these for an Ulster Fry, they will tell you that you can't always count on the exact same measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Fantastic! I moved from Northern Ireland to Canada in 2003 and this is what I missed most! They taste exactly as they do when you buy them from the shop. I prefer to toast mine with butter dripping off them. I use a 10 pound bag of potatoes so that I can make extras for freezing and share with the rest of the family I have over here. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemmasgrub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These turned out perfect! We used them like nachos with ground beef, cheese, and sliced scallions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
i make these all the time for my husband i am the only one other then his granda that know how to make these..if you dont wont to use fresh potatoes you can use deb (instant potato flakes) they turn out great aswell...also in stead of rolling it out as i piece when we have barbeques i roll them into balls then put them on the bbq and flatten them out... once you have dry cooked them you can place them in the fridge and next day when you make bacon and eggs fry bacon then eggs in left over fat fry the farls they taste awsome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used leftover mashed potatos, added a bit more flour then recommended and added some buttermilk and they came out alright. I think next time I'll try some garlic and parmesan, or maybe red pepper flakes to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
My first batch wasn't working. I think my potatoes where larger than medium so I had to keep adding flour to make it dough-like and then it worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I was raised on these but we just called them potato pancakes because my Mom and Grandmother made them into individual cakes. I add a little onion and garlic powder and always serve with a little butter on top. By doing individual cakes they are easier to spoon on the pan and flatten and 1/4 of flour is just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made the recipe using whole wheat flour, and it worked fine. I used the onion powder suggestion. I also cooked the potatoes in chunks with the skin on; it peeled off easily. Great on a cold day. We had them with sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States