Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very disappointing recipe... far too greasy and tasteless. I will not be making this again. What makes this dish "Irish" Potatoes? I'm half Irish and have traveled all through Ireland and have never eaten potatoes prepared this way. For a true Irish potato dish try the recipes for Colcannon or Champ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I won't even try to cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kann3140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I followed the receipe exactly, except I added the cheese before I started baking, oops. Still came out great. Think of it more as a side dish, because there's no meat. Might add diced ham or sausage next time to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After reading all the reviews...this is what I did. Hope it helps someone else who might make this... 3 Cups Shredded Potatoes; 1/4 C Melted Butter; 3 Eggs; 1 Small Onion, minced; 1/4 tsp Paprika, 1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper; 1/2 tsp Salt; 2 C Shredded Cheese 3/4 C Milk. So I increased the potatoes, onion, milk and cheese and decreased the butter. It didn't look good going into the oven but it was golden gooey and delicious when it came out! Everyone liked it and there were no leftovers! I did everything according to the instructions with the extra ingredients EXCEPT I mixed in 1 1/2 C of the Cheese in with the potatoes. The rest was sprinkled on top with a few cranks of fresh cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day. However, I added hamburger. I first cooked up the hamburger using onion, garlic, worcestershire sauce and steak sauce, then added it to the potato mixture. My husband really enjoyed the casserole prepared in this manner. He wouldn't have enjoyed it as much, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marcola, Oregon, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Delicious and simple, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
too greasy, way too much butter. I wish I had read the other reviews on here first would have taken the advice about less butter. The texture was a little wierd too. How about cooking the potatoes first then mashing them and adding the additonal ingredients and browning in the oven? Guess I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I hate to rate anyones recipe this low but this one would have been great if you triple the potatoes, halve the butter and blanch the potatoes after you shred them. Even after cooking them for an hour and a half it was still like eating raw potatoes. Gross. The overall flavor was really good. I would have rated higher if the texture had been better. However my husband did like it but he would eat most anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zavi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good! I used much less butter (3 tablespoons), a little less milk, more onion and more cheese and along with cabbage it made for a good vegetarian St. Patrick's Day dinner last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great St Pat's Recipe! My daughter doesn't like corned beef, but wanted something "Irish" for the day and we all loved these potatoes. I followed the recipe, but did use 1/3 cup butter instead of 1/2 but didn't bother to measure the potatoes, knew I had way more than 2 cups. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the new twist on St Pat's Day food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States