Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very yummy. I read other reviews that said it was greasy but I used real butter and mine was really good. I did however cook mine very well before I put the cheese on. It was very browned. Everyone loved it and had seconds, even my 3 year old who doesn't always eat potatoes. Also I added half of a chopped onion instead of minced (just for preference) and I doubled it and put it in the same size casserole dish. It barely fit but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added black pepper and Tabasco sauce for an extra kick. The next time I make this, I will definitely increase the quantity of potatoes and decrease the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I am sorry to say that this dish was tasted by everyone, and eaten by no one. I wouldn't waste the ingredients on this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I took the advise of others and added more potatoes. THe only problem I had was the baking time. I needed at least an hour and 10 minutes. Te milk adds a sour creamyness to it. My boyfriend is not a fan of sour cream but he didn't complain about this at all. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holstein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
i would have given 5 stars but since i made some changes i only gave 4. i didn't know if "minced" onion was dried onion or fresh onion. anyway i used 6 cups shredded potato and 1/2 of an onion, grated and 1/4 cup of butter. 3/4 cup of milk as well as the eggs. added garlic powder becuz i didn't have paprika. i put a handful of cheese in the mixture. used a 13 x 9" pan at 400 degrees. i used a cooking spray for the pan, otherwise i would have had a heck of a time getting it outta there. it came out great! all brown and crusty on the sides. i put the 1/2 cup of cheese on the top as instructed but because i put some in the mix, it didn't really need a 1/2 cup. maybe just a sprinkle for looks. next time i will chop up some italian parsley and sprinkle on top to make it look more pleasing after i take it out of the oven. it tastes like potatoes au gratin. super easy and i will definitely make it again. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My boys loved the potatoes! I think I will add less salt and more onions. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Was fairly bland (but I guess that fits with Irish Potatoes). Next time I will add some garlic and some more onion. I did use 6 CUPS of potatoes and then 1/3 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
An awesome comfort food, so good. Grating the potatoes is easier with a food processor if you have one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I liked that this recipe can be made easily from ingredients that I usually have laying around the house. I will double the recipe next time as it barely covered the bottom of the pan. Plenty of room for variations such as sour cream, bacon, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Really easy to make and has a great consistency. Needed some more spice to it. I just added salt and pepper and it was perfect. Will definitelymake this again! Great alternative to fries or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCNEWMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States