Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
5 minutes prep time to peel and shred 2 cups of potatoes, beat 2 eggs, mince onion, shred 1/2 cup cheese? Let's get real. Like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Sorry, I'm Irish and these need ALOT of help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is good but there's nothing Irish about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iryshre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loves Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I found this recipe to be tasteless and mushy. I did make it according to the recipe as stated -- something I wish EVERY person would do on this site! Make the dish according to the recipe FIRST and rate it as such, then, if you want to, post the changes you make to a subsequent try of the original recipe. This is the ONLY way to know if a particular recipe is GOOD or NOT so good and isn't that why we're rating these recipes to begin with???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've been making this for years and find it to be delicious every time. Something similar to this has been made in my family for generations. To those who rated this only one or two stars: please rate only the original recipe. If you change it (i.e. using margerine instead of butter) then it's no longer the recipe that was submitted and you're rating your own changes, not the submitter's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
was not good at all. had no taste to it. Plus it was soggy. will not try it again. I enjoy receipes from allrrecipes but not this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
After reading reviews this is what I did. I increased potatoes to 4 cups and used a medium chopped onion (my family loves onions so I can see using minced onion to hide them LOL but that was not a worry for me). I decreased butter to 1/3 cup and added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I baked this in a 400 degree oven until slightly brown and potatoes were done (sorry I didn't time this). I thinly sliced the potatoes on a mandolin because I hate to grate stuff and used skim milk. We loved this and they asked for them again. This was a good base and I just changed to suit our taste. Thanks for posting this and reminding me how good potatoes are baked and not fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Sorry, there is nothing Irish about this except for the potatoes. If you want a great Irish potato dish, try colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I'm not sure why the recipe suggests using so little potato and so much butter. It's definitely better with more potatoes, less butter and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Ah I have been making this for years but with some tweaks. I first heat tater tots sprinkled with seasonings in a pan (size depends on servings being prepared) sprayed with non stick cooking spray in a 375 degree oven, while I am mixing together 2 eggs per serving with seasonings of choice, pour the eggs over heated tater tots, cover with tin foil and bake appr. 30 min + for additional servings. Casserole will be firm to touch, then add cheese to top, return to oven untill melted and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States