Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Really wish I had read the other reviews before I wasted so much butter. This did NOT cook up nice and fluffy - it was way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used 1 large russet potato, not knowing how much shredded potato I would end up with. After peeling I had 18oz of potato. After shredding I had 4 cups of potato. I let this sit between two towels to dry up a bit while I sauteed my onions, I didn't want to use raw onion. One medium onion with a quarter inch dice and one head of garlic finely chopped. Saute the onion in 2T of unsalted butter, add the garlic when the onion is almost done. melt the remaining 6T of butter and mix together the potato, onion, garlic eggs, salt and paprika. I put them into two au gratin dishes (about 5x8, not sure what size that is). pour milk over the top. Now let's see I doubled the amount of potato, added lots more onion and garlic, 4x the paprika double the milk, double the cheese. Just a half cup of butter though and reduced the amount of moisture in the potatoes. I like the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It seems like something you would create on-the-fly, and then something you regret having created on-the-fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken H
Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Lovit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
It cracks me up that some will say 4-5 stars and others say 1. CHANGE IT for YOUR family...i added garlic (as some did) I added different cheese (morrell leek jack most recently) cuz that's what i had. even diced pastrami, or ham. make it yours and it's 5 STARS...cuz YOU made it that way. be CREATIVE...HELLO....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very easy to make and I had all the ingredients handy. I added fresh onions and one tablespoon of paprika instead of 1/4 teaspoon. My husband said it is the best potato dish I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8cape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavittsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My guys thought this tasted like scalloped potatoes. I think the only change I would make next time is to bake it is a shallow pan instead of a casserole dish. This way there would be more surface for browning. It is definately a different texture for potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scully

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I gave it only three stars because after reading everyones input, I made a few changes myself as I didn't want it bland, greasy or mushy. I used 3 cups frozen hash browns to save time, 1/3 cup of butter, chopped fresh brocolli, 3/4 cup grated cheese, 2 eggs and 1/2 cup milk. I seasoned it with Mrs Dash, paprika, salt and pepper. I did not use onions as I have picky eaters. Cooked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes and 15 minutes before it was done, I mixed 1 cup rice krispies (out of cornflakes) and 3/4 cup of grated cheese. It was nice and crispy and my family ate the whole thing. I could have used even less butter and if I'd had sharp cheddar, I would have used a bit less cheese also. Yummy - I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
CHEESY POTATOES! anything cheese+potatoes=DELICIOUS. I had to rate before i tried. My Grandma used to make something like this,except i believe she put cream of something and some sourcream in there. I'll definitely try this with the eggs! Thanks for Posting and bringing back the memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
5 minutes prep time to peel and shred 2 cups of potatoes, beat 2 eggs, mince onion, shred 1/2 cup cheese? Let's get real. Like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States