Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I should have known not to put a half cup of butter to two cups of potatoes. Half of the butter sat on top of the casserole after baking it off. It was a greasy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was a huge hit in our house! My (very picky) son said "this is excellent!" I cut back on the butter and used garlic instead of onions, and it was excellent - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. I made it as directed and added 1 whole onion diced and doubbled the entire recipe. I was very skeptical because of the amount of butter but I made a special meal and figured we would give it a try. I did find it a bit wet on top with grease and would probably cut the butter down to half or a third than called for. I used salted butter and needed to cook it for about an hour finding I needed to raise the heat at the end of cooking time to get the potatoes done at the same time as my meat. My son ate his and asked for seconds and ate leftovers the next day. We enjoyed this and I will definately make this again only cutting down on the butter and cooking for longer at 400*. Thank You for a new recipe for potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I would give this 3.5 starts. It was pretty good, family enjoyed it. I baked a layer of broccoli over it and served it with meatloaf for something different. I missed the regular mashed potatoes but I would like to experiment with it, (perhaps mix it with sour cream and onions or some bacon bits) and serve it with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My family enjoyed this dish. I doubled the potaoes,used no butter or paprika and added only 1/4 tsp. of salt with a sprinkle of garlic powder.I mixed the cheese in as well and baked it for 1hr. I should have baked for 15 more minutes. It was still tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have to say first, in my opinion, anyone who reads a recipe like this and doesn't tweak it to suit their own tastes does not do them selves or the author of the recipe justice. I used 8 cups of frozen hashbrown potatoes, 2 eggs, 1/3 C real butter, 1 C minced onion, 1 C canned milk, 3 ounces shredded sharp cheddar, salt, onion powder, pepper and paprika to taste. I put the hashbrown potatoes in a bowl, added dry ingredients. Mixed egg, butter and milk in a separate bowl, poured it over the potatoes and turned to incorporate. Baked at 400 for 40 mins, topped with cheese and baked another 10 mins. It was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wonderful with the exception that it was too salty for my taste. Was everything it said it would be though yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe is amazingly delicious! Even my boys, who are picky as all get-out, ate every bite and said, "This is actually really good!" I took the someone's advice and made more like 5-6 cups of potatos, I grated half a small onion instead of just a teaspoon, I added a clove of garlic and fresh-ground black pepper (about a quarter teaspoon), and a half teaspoon of dried rosemary, which gave it a really nice flavor. I also took the advice of someone and broiled it after cooking, for four minutes, to crisp up the top before adding the cheese. This is really, really good, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I didn't care much for this even though all of the ingredients sounded like the makings of a perfect recipe. The potatoes turned a grey dead looking color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Got rave reviews. I will defintely add this recipe to my normal rotation as a side dish. However, I agree with previous reviews: add more potatoes (shredded and wrung dry) and use much less butter- a 1/3 cup sounds adequate as there was excess butter in the bottom. To avoid an extra step, I put the cheese on the top from the before I put it in the oven and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States