Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Brought this to a church potluck and it was gone quick. We had visitors from Bhutan that are new to the country and was told this was her favorite out of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I would definitely recommend using much less butter and more potatoes. It was alright, but too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I've had better and I've had worse. I probably would think it was better if I was in Ireland. I thought this dish was very greasy. I would eat it again if I were served it at someone's home. But the next time I want something Irish, I'll try some recipe other than this one. This is not the worst thing I've ever tasted though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
pretty good, tried it out tonight with a roast. grandpa loved it brother wasnt crazzy abouts it but overall good ;) used a little more potato then called for (3 cups instead of two)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fabulous, but only 4 stars because I had to tweak A LOT! Follow these instructions and you'll love it too. First cook at 400 not 350. Increase shredded potatoes to SIX CUPS and reduce your butter to 1/3 cup. I didn't have paprika so I used 1 tsp of garlic spread mix and a dash of pepper...yum! Cook for the 40 minutes then put it under low broil for 5 minutes to crisp the top (watch it so you don't overdo it). Pull it out, add your chedder and back in the oven just till melted. Take it out and let it "rest" for 5 minutes before eating. (This gives the butter a little time to absorb because you will see some in there when you pull it out. My hubby and 3 girls devoured this and was so sad I didn't make a bigger batch! I served it with pork chops and veggies. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I added more cheese b/c that's what the family likes and it tasted great. I did add more paprika and salt than what it called for. It was the first time I made it and I was asked to make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
i DID NOT CARE FOR THE LOOKS OF THIS RECIPE. It turned out to be pretty good even though I only used 1/2 the butter the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is so good! Of course, less butter, more potato, like everyone else... but, yum! I can finally replace the old family Cheesy Potatoes with the canned soup. I might add parsnips or turnips, or broccoli or cauliflower, and also lighten each serving up with a topper of minced parsley, lemon-basil, and red onion (and a orange or lemon slice as well). And as for the reviewer that said theirs tasted like old potatoes, I can only imagine that they must have been using old potatoes. And make sure the cheese is good and sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe was a big hit with my guests on St. Patrick's Day. I followed the advice of other cooks and added a couple more potoatoes, as well as added a bit more cheese on top, and it tasted delicious. The appreance of the dish wasn't the greatest, but that was easily overlooked by the taste. I was asked for the recipe that evening from a couple guests, therefore, I will be making this dish again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My family LOVED this! I did use more potatoes based on another's review. I will use less margarine next time, but other than that...EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States