Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe yielded 40 potato candies, each was about 2 bites. Chilling in between steps is the key! Chill them for about 30 minutes after you mix in the coconut, then chill them another 30 minutes after shaping them, chill them about 20 minutes after rolling them in cinnamon. I used 1/2 tbsp of cocoa with every 1 tbsp cinnamon for the coating. After letting it set for about 20 minutes, I brushed the excess off with a basting brush.. I HIGHLY reccomend doing that, otherwise the coating is overwhelming. If you're not a cinnamon lover, I would suggest rolling them in just cocoa, I think I am going to try that next time. As is, the cinnamon taste is WAY to strong, for kids, I would definitely try the cocoa route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
We have grown up enjoying these sinful good candies and find this recipe able to produce "Irish P's" as good as those made by a local candy company known for these "Patty's Day" treats. I used some butter to grease the palms of my hands for rolling and I place the mixture back in the fridge for a few minutes once it starts to get too sticky to roll cleanly. We like the sharp contrast of the pure cinnamon coating with the creamy sweetness of the candy. A little powdered sugar mixed in with the cinnamon will reduce that sharpness, for those that don't. Prior reviews that have noted a "too buttery" taste must not have creamed the butter and cream cheese thoroughly. I cream the two of them together in one of my large stainless mixing bowls using using the back of a large 13.5" stock spoon until the color is uniform. I also combine the vanilla using this method. An electric mixer is almost a required item to combine the powdered sugar, unless you are really up for a work out with you wire whip! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These are so cute! I surrounded a plate of Irish Soda Bread with them. I had to explain what they were, since they do look a little odd, but once the group knew what they were they dove right in until they were gone. The taste is different and good, and they are a great touch for St. Patrick's Day. I would recommend chilling the mixture for about five minutes before forming the potatoes, then chilling them again for a few minutes before rolling them in the cinnamon. They keep their irregular potato shape better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This recipe is very easy to make. I like to toast the coconut - it makes the candy much more flavorful. For a cute gift - make small burlap sacks and line with wax paper, fill the sack with the potato candy and tie the top with twine. I gave these to my Irish relatives for Christmas and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe is great! It's just as good as the one's you can buy at See's candy. I did what See's did, though, and instead of just cinnamon, I mixed cinnamon with cocoa powder. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
My husband was having a St. Pats potluck at work and I was looking for something "Irish" and "different" to send. I stumbled across this recipe and decided it looked easy, fast and good so I tried it. I just finished emailing him the recipe - there were a lot of requests for it! I added 1/2 Tablespoon of cocoa to the cinnamon and they were DELICIOUS!!! I will DEFINATELY be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was a big hit in my holiday candy tins. Be sure to allow time for them to dry out a little so they won't be so squishy. Also, next time I'm going to roll them in cinnamon and a little sugar instead of just cinnamon. The cinnamon alone is slightly bitter when you first pop it into your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Very good. I let cream cheese mixture chill in fridge over night before rolling in hands to form individual candies. Came out great. Cute presentation for St. Patty's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
good taste but way to gooey and messy to roll. I even added more 10x sugar and that didnt help. I dont know if I did something wrong.Took to long wont be making again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
My son's class were supposed to be farmers, so I put a bunch of these in a little crate, with a sign saying "Potatoes for Sale". They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States