Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great and so easy. I don't think they taste at all like See's, but they're wonderful in their own way. Like a little ball of frosting with coconut wrapped in cinnamon. I thought the cinnamon might overwhelm me, but it didn't at all. Delish! (And I agree to refrigerate between steps - so much easier.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Adorable treat for St. Patrick's Day dinner. I skipped the coconut and added peanut butter, just out of personal preference, I think they would have been great with coconut too. Since I used peanut butter I rolled them in cocoa and confectioners' sugar in place of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were cute, and they tasted good but certainly would not become my favorite,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very cute and yummy. Putting them in the fridge for a while before rolling them definitely helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good. They are sticky and moist to roll, so definitely plan on refrigerating prior to rolling them into balls. Yes, these are sweet, but Irish potatoes are synonymous with super sugary sweet goodness :) The cream cheese makes them moister than usual and taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I spent time reading through almost all of the reviews and found the hints about chilling the mixture quite helpful. Instead of using cocoa, I used Godiva Milk Chocolate Hot Chocolate mix, along with the cinnamon. It was just the right amount sweetness and color is perfect for potatoes. I also used fat-free cream cheese, which I realize is like having a diet soda with a Baconator, but cutting out some of the fat is better than nothing. I'm taking these to a carry-in at my school on Wednesday and knowing the staff, there won't be a single potato left by the end of lunch. The hard is part is going to be hiding them from husband in the meantime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Pretty good recipe, but, 4 cups 10x sugar was way too sweet. Threw away the first batch and only used 2 cups 10x sugar second time around. A little softer consistency, but after chilling in the fridge it was easy to roll into balls. Tasted much better with less sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It tasted of pure sugar to me. Loved the look but it didn't taste that great. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Awesome recipe. People that don't normally enjoy Irish Potatoes loved these. I'll be using this again ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaminthekitty95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I grew up on irish potatoes around March and was so glad to finally tasted like the same thing I ate as akid. Its a simple recipe but I have tried others but they're not nearly as delicious. This is a must during st.pattys day even if you're not irish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States