Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by memorysketch
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is pretty good. Pretty good indeed. How can you go wrong with cream cheese, butter, and cinnamon? You can't! The only thing I would change in the recipe is I would throw the coconut in a food processor and give it a whirl to make the mouth feel a little less.. stringy. And instead of 'rolling' it in the cinnamon, I dunked them in a plastic sandwich bag to coat. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memorysketch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is so much fun & easy to make with my young children, and they are delicious! Little hands can roll perfect sized potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
very good but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipe - easy to work with and great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Outstanding! These were a huge hit at the office for St. Patrick's Day. I was going to make them again and use colored sugar in the cinnamon for Easter but ran out of time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
In my opinion before wasting valuable time and resources, I made the mistake of following the above directions only to come out with a gooey mess. Here's the deal people, you must chill the mix at least 30 mins. before attempting to roll these guys in cinnamon if you don't there will be more cinnamon inside than outside. Just my two cents here but I strongly advise doing it this way because I made that mistake already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
i actually halved the confectioner's sugar and they were a perfect consistency (just barely sticky, but it helped the cinnamon to stay on!). i think they would have been WAY too sweet with the total 4 cups of the c-sugar. i took them to our neighbor's for a corn beef & cabbage party for St. Patty's day...to my surprise they were devoured! i drew a cute little sign to stick out of the bowl they were in saying they were Irish "potatoes." it really drew in the crowd--cracked me up to see people's reaction to the strange-looking "candy." hehe! many people asked for the recipe--they were definitely a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These taste exactly like I remember the ones from Utche's Candy in Medford Lakes New Jersey tasted growing up. My mother would always buy us a small boy on St. Patrick's Day. They are very, very sweet, but so are all of the Irish Lasses!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These are fun to make. My kids really enjoyed making them, however, no one would eat them after trying one. The initial taste of cinnamon is way too strong and the cream cheese part is just too sugary. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great and so easy. I don't think they taste at all like See's, but they're wonderful in their own way. Like a little ball of frosting with coconut wrapped in cinnamon. I thought the cinnamon might overwhelm me, but it didn't at all. Delish! (And I agree to refrigerate between steps - so much easier.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States