Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
tried & everyone loved it! i have a stand mixer so was super simple for me to make a double batch. i did as many reviews suggested & mixed to the 1 Tbsp cinnamon a half Tbsp cocoa & 2 tsp powdered sugar.i also did the chilling in btwn steps i mixed, then chilled for 60 min (because double batch)then formed with latex gloves on (made this step a breeze) then chilled again & coated by shaking 5 at a time in a gallon ziplock, chilled again, brushed off excess coating (i feel this is a must, otherwise the coating will choke you!! lol!!!)then stored in frig. soooo cute, they look just like little potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Family and I thought they were great. Took the advice of chilling in between steps and adding cocoa. After I formed them I held each one and lightly sprinkled cinnamon/cocao mixture on them, then rolled them again in hand to give even coat. Next time I might put an almond in each one to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
You can also roll out the dough and spread peanut butter on it and roll it up and cut about quarter inch slices to make small pinwheels. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
we always used cocoa instead of cinnamon...interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
OK...so I almost gave it 4 stars because it is not easy to use and handle. My 10 year old little girl needed something for "culture" day at school...we chose this. Best advice? Put in freezer or fridge between each step! I read that and was so glad I did! Also...I mixed together cinnamon, cocoa, and powdered sugar for the end step. I tried to throw them in a ziplock bag and shake like someone suggested but they came out looking like poo. I spread them out on a large cookie sheet and "sprinkled" the mix all over them...turning them a few times. THEN they looked more like potatoes instead of poo. I HAD to keep them cold...or they became a mushy mess. By mid-day...even in a cooler with an ice block...they were all mushed together. What was left at the end of the day...my family and I dug in with spoons! ;-) Tastes great...just hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kesih

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riner, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Little sugar balls, the cinnamon makes them. I tried with cocoa on the outside and still good but not as striking for sure. I also made some with the cocoa and mint extract, but the mint flavor wasn't strong enough, maybe next time I'll just mince the mint and make "potatoes with chives" candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by for the love of food
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made these for St. Patrick's day, my husband loved them. He loves coconut and these were so easy because you dont have to cook them. I did add cocoa powder with powdered sugar and cinnamon for the coating and it really gave them a realistic potato look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This recipe was what I was looking for! I've made these candies since I was in the second grade and now being a grown adult I had misplaced it during a move, so I searched on other websites and including this one and found that this recipe came the closest to what I lost. I added a little more coconut. Also for those of you that say it's too messy or sticky to roll...well it is! And that's how it's supposed to be. Just use your palms, roll quickly and then plop about three or four in a bowl of cinnamon and swirl them around until coated. Then use your clean fingers to pick them up and put them on a try to be refrigerated. And I also needed a lot more cinnamon than what was recommended. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe, very easy and looks just like little potatoes, so cute. I took advice from the reviewer who said to chill between steps. That worked really well. I got about 48-50 (someone kept stealing them before I could count) I mixed icing sugar with the cinnamon before rolling them. These are great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States