Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. After reading the review I made some of the alterations suggested and they turned out perfect. I used 3 cups instead of 4 cups of powdered sugar and did the cocoa powder/cinnamon combo just to take a bit of the bitterness off the cinnamon. Electric beaters to mix are a must and keeping the mix chilled makes all the difference. Also, spraying your hands with Pam helps it not to stick too. I made these for our Bunco group and it was a huge hit. One of the ladies actually owns a bakery and she asked for the recipe and a few days later was selling it in her shop! That says it all! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
these are great we all really liked them. we will def. make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These were delicious! The center tastes just like bounty bars. I needed to use quite a lot more icing sugar than the recipe states and the final product was very rich. Next time I'm going to try these a little smaller and dip them in chocolate instead of rolling in cinnamon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this recipe, minus the coconut. When I mixed it in the mixer, I accidentally turned it into an icing texture rather than a texture for rolling Irish potatoes. Needless to say, the icing was delicious! The sugar content is a little too much though. Next time I will cut back on the sugar. I used it to top spice cake & white cake cupcakes. I am rating this as an icing recipe, if anyone may be interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitty2898
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These have a great flavor, but there are a few things I changed. First, don't roll them in just cinnimon, as others have wisely suggested. Instead, I rolled them in finely crushed graham crackers and they tasted GREAT! Also, since I didn't have the patience to roll them into mini potatoes (way too time consuming), I simply made truffles. They still looked cute and were super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitty2898
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe was made exactly the way it was written - at first. I didn't have to refrigerate the dough at any time and I think it's because I didn't let the butter get too soft when I softened it. I had a pretty strong cinnamon flavor, so I re-shook the balls in a plastic freezer bag and that helped to reduce that really strong flavor. My husband took them to work today and WOW! They were the hit of the day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
There is way too much sugar in this recipe, so I had to throw out the entire thing. Probably 1/2 the recommended sugar would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CurlyQs07
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
It seems to have just been me, but the 1/4 cup of butter and 1/2 8 oz cream cheese wasn't NEARLY enough for the 4 cups of 10x sugar! I had to use a 1/2 cup of butter and a whole 8 oz package of cream cheese to get anywhere near a batter-like consistency instead of just lumpy powder. After I figured that out it tasted great! Maybe a little too sweet for some. I might relax on some of the 10x sugar on the next batch. I too chilled the batter in the fridge overnight before rolling them in cinnamon and cocoa. I'm sending them to school with my daughter. I'm sure they'll be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great for a St. Pat's party but otherwise wouldn't make again because of the taste. Easy to form into potatoes once chilled, used a mix of cinn/cocoa/powdered sugar to coat. However biting into a chunk of cream cheese, butter and coconut wasn't that appealing to me. I used the recipe for 40 and was still able to make 60 potatoes! I did have to double the coating mix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was very messy and did not turn out well. The cream cheese sweet coconut mixture (which was very good) did not ball up or form into a potato looking candy. I used this cream cheese mixture in a crescent roll instead with cherry topping. This recipe was very sticky and in the end did not look like a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States