Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
O M G! These are a diabetic coma waiting to happen, but oh my goodness they are WONDERFUL. I toasted the coconut like someone mentioned and they turned out great! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a11baker
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are yummy, but much better if you roll them in cocoa powder instead. If you use the cocoa powder and stick an almond in the middle, they taste like Almond Joys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are delicious and super easy and fast! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. This will definitely be a go-to recipe when I'm craving something sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by memorysketch
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is pretty good. Pretty good indeed. How can you go wrong with cream cheese, butter, and cinnamon? You can't! The only thing I would change in the recipe is I would throw the coconut in a food processor and give it a whirl to make the mouth feel a little less.. stringy. And instead of 'rolling' it in the cinnamon, I dunked them in a plastic sandwich bag to coat. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memorysketch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is so much fun & easy to make with my young children, and they are delicious! Little hands can roll perfect sized potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
very good but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipe - easy to work with and great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Outstanding! These were a huge hit at the office for St. Patrick's Day. I was going to make them again and use colored sugar in the cinnamon for Easter but ran out of time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
In my opinion before wasting valuable time and resources, I made the mistake of following the above directions only to come out with a gooey mess. Here's the deal people, you must chill the mix at least 30 mins. before attempting to roll these guys in cinnamon if you don't there will be more cinnamon inside than outside. Just my two cents here but I strongly advise doing it this way because I made that mistake already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
i actually halved the confectioner's sugar and they were a perfect consistency (just barely sticky, but it helped the cinnamon to stay on!). i think they would have been WAY too sweet with the total 4 cups of the c-sugar. i took them to our neighbor's for a corn beef & cabbage party for St. Patty's day...to my surprise they were devoured! i drew a cute little sign to stick out of the bowl they were in saying they were Irish "potatoes." it really drew in the crowd--cracked me up to see people's reaction to the strange-looking "candy." hehe! many people asked for the recipe--they were definitely a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States