Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very cute and tasty little treats. My children loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This recipe was awesome. Vey sweet, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
They were way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
We have grown up enjoying these sinful good candies and find this recipe able to produce "Irish P's" as good as those made by a local candy company known for these "Patty's Day" treats. I used some butter to grease the palms of my hands for rolling and I place the mixture back in the fridge for a few minutes once it starts to get too sticky to roll cleanly. We like the sharp contrast of the pure cinnamon coating with the creamy sweetness of the candy. A little powdered sugar mixed in with the cinnamon will reduce that sharpness, for those that don't. Prior reviews that have noted a "too buttery" taste must not have creamed the butter and cream cheese thoroughly. I cream the two of them together in one of my large stainless mixing bowls using using the back of a large 13.5" stock spoon until the color is uniform. I also combine the vanilla using this method. An electric mixer is almost a required item to combine the powdered sugar, unless you are really up for a work out with you wire whip! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara K.
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Novel idea, they really look like little potatoes!! I took them to work and received a lot of positive reviews on taste! Personally though, I thought the taste was a 3 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara K.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Very good and interesting. I would add a little sugar to the cinnamon too as someone else said. I also had to use a lot more cinnamon than the recipe called for but it wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These were a big hit with my husband's co-workers. I added red and green sugar for a festive Christmas appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
really, really good. we took them to a pot- luck and everyone loved them. if you want to cut the sweetness, use normal coconut, it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Excellent!!! Made this 2x already. Though, they melt if you keep them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
My son's class were supposed to be farmers, so I put a bunch of these in a little crate, with a sign saying "Potatoes for Sale". They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States