Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Excellent Treat! I also made these to "garnish" irish soda bread at a work function. They were so sweet & so delicious - just like the ones I used to have straight from the candymaker in NYC. Make sure you use an electric mixer to mix the beginning ingrediants. Using a utensil for the coconut flakes is fine. Also I had to put the dough back in the fridge every so often to firm up. I also threw in a dash of confectioners sugar with the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
my son's favorite. Two batches went like wildfire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day. My family loved the taste. The only thing I changed was the cinnamon to cocoa powder. It gave the candy a hint of chocolate without the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alum Bank, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Paris, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made this for ST. Patties Day for a potluck with me friends. It was such a hit I have sent them all here to get the recipe for themselves. I love it!!! I did sprikle the candy with cinnamon and sugar instead of rolling them~which was a bit much for us! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
After mixing all the ingredients together, I chilled for about 30 min to harden it up and not be so sticky. The cinnamon coating went on well. Be sure not to make them too big. Irregular shape, two bite size is perfect. Keep refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I made with 3 cups of sugar, all else as directed. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I made these last second for some St. Patty's giggles, and fed them to two guys who don't normally like coconut. They loved 'em. They never really firmed up, but I was told that's part of their charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
These were adorable! And they tasted great too! I did let them sit in the fridge overnight before forming into potatoes & I rolled them in a cinnamon/sugar/cocoa combo. I gave away gift plates of Irish Cream brownies w/ little decanters of homemade Irish Cream & used these as a garnish on the plates. I'll make them year after year although next year I may try them w/ potatoes subbed for the cream cheese as suggested by Reen. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I have been making this fun candy for 50 years. I use potatoes instead of the cream cheese and add almond flavoring and Irish Whiskey. I also make eyes for the "potatoes" with small slivers of almonds.Wish I could post a picture but am computer challenged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Made these for a potluck at work and everyone loved them. Easy to make too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States