Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Looks just like little potatoes. The taste is interesting and grows on you the more you eat them. Not my favorite though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These were delicious. I've already been asked to make these again. I did have to add more coconut, the consistancy was too thin to roll into balls. Next time I will chill the mix before rolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made these last night and took them to work for a potluck. Everyone that tried them loved them. I cut back on the confectioners sugar by about a 1/2 cup, though. I also mixed in some cocoa power and confectioners sugar with the cinnamon. Chilling the mixture before rolling and then chilling again prior to coating them seemed to help a lot. I tapped each candy on the edge of a bowl to get the excess cinnamon mixture off so that it wasn't too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made these last night, and they turned out wonderful, just like the wonderful irish potatoes my neighbor used to make when I was a child. My family loved them too, especially my son, he keeps going back for more. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problem with consistency or rolling them. The only problem is they're addiciting, I couldn't stop eating them! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsgrove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This one was so much fun! I loved that I could just toss everything into the mixer and let it do all the work and my two year old had lots of fun shaping the candy with me. I actually doubled the recipe because I didn't want to use just half a stick of butter and cream cheese but I probably won't do it again. After rolling about half the candy I wished I was done since it makes plenty. I ran out of coconut so I threw in 1 cup of walnuts to balance it out. That worked really well and added a nice crunch here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I feed a about 80 Veitnam Veterans and their significant others Saturday night. Besides the corn beef/cabbage this was the hit. Was quite comical because they all were expecting your tradional potato candy with peanut butter. They were pleasantly surprised. Very easy recipe would be great for a kid just starting in the kitchen. Taste is wonderful!!!*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: La Vale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made these with the kids. Here's what I want to remember for last time. Every few minutes I had to stop and put the mix back into the fridge to firm up a bit before I could continue forming the balls. I think with these mods it will be a 5 star. It is too sweet (which is something I very rarely say). I will cut the sugar down to 3 cups - 2 and 1/2 cups into the mix and save about 1/2 cup to mix with the cinnamon to help cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made them for St. Patrick's Day and they were easy and taste great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used an enormous bowl to catch overflow, made recipe with an extra teaspoon of butter.After mixing, put into 2 sandwich bags,put in fridge for over an hour, and then used 3/4 teaspoon to portion and roll them into another sandwich bag filled with cinnamon to shake/coat them. quick and easy that way,the kids had a ball making them, without a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe yielded 40 potato candies, each was about 2 bites. Chilling in between steps is the key! Chill them for about 30 minutes after you mix in the coconut, then chill them another 30 minutes after shaping them, chill them about 20 minutes after rolling them in cinnamon. I used 1/2 tbsp of cocoa with every 1 tbsp cinnamon for the coating. After letting it set for about 20 minutes, I brushed the excess off with a basting brush.. I HIGHLY reccomend doing that, otherwise the coating is overwhelming. If you're not a cinnamon lover, I would suggest rolling them in just cocoa, I think I am going to try that next time. As is, the cinnamon taste is WAY to strong, for kids, I would definitely try the cocoa route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States