Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
It just wouldn't be St. Patty's Day without Irish Potatoes. Coconut is our favorite so this is a real delight. Thank you for sharing your recipe SAUNDRA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made this recipe and it was really very good, I used a 1/2 tsp measuring spoon to form the little potato's and they where great. My husband loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very cute and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These Irish potatoes were so delicious! I did have to chill the batter prior to rolling them into balls or they would have been sticky, messy, balls of mush. I will defiantly make these again. This batch goes to school w/ my daughter on Friday for a St. patty's day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made these last year and they were a hit. Very easy to make and they look so cute. This is definitely part of the menu again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
So good - I made these candies for a St. Patrick's Day party. Everyone (who liked coconut) loved them. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very cute! The taste is very basic so it will appeal to most people. We did have to add some more oil to the mix to reach a good molding consistency. Since the mix is white, we molded small snowmen and used it as a Christmas cookie. It is very versatile, so you could also color the mix and make Easter Eggs or hearts etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These are so cute! They really look like potatoes, even after you bite into them the inside looks like a potato too LOL! These were super easy to make with my stand mixture, even with very cold butter. These are gluten free too, provided you make sure the coconut and the icing sugar is a reliable brand. I ran out of coconut, so I pounded some almonds into a chunky powder and it seemed to work well too, nice crunchy bits added to the "potato" nature without compromising taste. Great recipe! Will definately make again, I plan to use these as stocking stuffers this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I found these to be too sweet, but I'm hoping the kids like them. I would cut back on the sugar next time. I also like the idea of rolling them in a combination of sugar, cocoa and cinnamon. They were easy to make in my standing mixer, and I chilled them overnight before rolling them. It's probably a good idea to chill them again after they are rolled and coated. A unique little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made these for my daughter's social studies class. They were extremely easy to make (I didn't have coconut so I left it out). The kids in her class loved it! It really looked like little potatoes. Even the teacher asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States