Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
MMMMMM....DELICIOUS very easy and big hit........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Burdsall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I thought these were delicious. Taste better than the ones you buy at the store. I see some users said they were to sweet, but what do you expect when you are using mostly powdered sugar!? TIP If you add more coconut they stiffen more so you can roll them better, no need to add extra powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Everybody who tried these loved them!! Really easy recipe to put together. I rolled the "potatoes"in pure cacao powder in place of cinnamon because I was out. Instead of rolling out balls using my hands I used a mini ice cream scoop, dropping them into the cacao powder. I had no problems with the mix at all, didn't even chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I like the other user used too much cream cheese and the mixture was too goey to roll. Why not just say 4 oz of cream cheese? It does come in this size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe is great and I use it all the time! Sometimes I add a little fresh nutmeg in the cinnamon or not. And most times I split mixture in half and make adult version by adding a little coconut rum! My favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I LOVE this recipe, I have been using it for years. I always get compliments on how yummy these little treats are. We always make for my son to take to school, give to family and friends it has gotten to the point I get request for them. Like others have said make sure you chill the filing, as it's basically a cream cheese frosting. Chill after mixing, chill after rolling and chill after powdering. I use a cinnamon and sugar mixture for coating using 3/4 cinnamon and 1/4 sugar ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Ssssssuuupppper sweet. I love cinnamon and coconut so I really thought that id enjoy it but I just wasn't worth the calories. I enjoy indulging in a sinful snack but it has to be worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollie1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Got a 3 stars because of all the compliments they (I !) received while I would have given only 2 little stars : FAR too sweet for my taste ! I did use only 3 cups of sugar though, which is already plenty to make 50 "potatoes". No problem for making the balls after puting the dough for only 20 minutes in the fridge, but then I preferred presenting the potatoes in little paper cups as they had to travel on the next day. It all turned perfect this way. I agree with some comments about the flaked coconut being too "stringy", if a next time I'll use smaller flakes. I also followed the advices of the mixed cinnamon and cocoa. My own tips : if you are not completely sugar addicted, the dark cocoa coat is a must do, and don't spare on the spices you'd add to it. I also added 2 or 3 spoons of whisky in the cream-sugar dough, as when you decide to go Irish let's REALLY go ! May be this helped my friends to give their high rate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made A LOT of Irish Potatoes in my day, and I have to tell you these turned out the best!! Recipe was simple enough to follow!! A co-worker said she tried this recipe and hers came out to soft, but she also did make them ENORMOUS and tends to use "low fat" butters and cream cheeses(which I learned the hard way makes for runny potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States