Irish Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Why is it green? Looks super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My grandma gave me this recipe & I loved it. (I thought it was Hungarian...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I love the green color and am using it for a school bake sale-would have never thought of that! As per the ole family recipe, I do add 1/2 tsp vanilla and use a small cooled potato, along with 1 pat of butter to make the confection sugar dough. If your dough is too stiff, a little milk works-just a bit. I also roll it out, using confection sugar like you normally use flour, before spreading the creamy peanut butter. Wrapping it up in wax paper and chilling as directed above. For those who said it was "too sweet" try using a natural creamy peanut butter without sugar in it. Always love the reaction when you tell kids it has potatoes and they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My grandmother makes this every year for Christmas. It is VERY, VERY rich and sweet, but will always be my favorite candy of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Not happy...I used 10 potato's for a holiday party for 50+ people. It was sloppy and wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Way too sweet & sticky but great old-style recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I used this recipe and made two kinds of candy from it, the first I added green food coloring and made as recipe suggests, rolled up, chilled and sliced. I was a bit short on powdered suger so ended up using some (quite a bit actually) corn starch to finish it off. The candy was not overpoweringly sweet this way and still tasted good! The second candy I shaped into irregular, potato shaped balls, rolled them in a mixture of equal parts cinnamon and cocoa then pressed in tiny pieces of almond "eyes" Cutest potato, potato candies you ever saw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I love this candy! My great Granny used to make this. I've got to make some more now :PPP It's fun to make and fun to eat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I have made this exact recipe my whole life, it's a holiday tradition in our house. The secret is not using too much potato. If your potato is too big, you'll end up using so much confectioner's sugar. I know it takes a whole box usually, but instead of measuring it out, I just keep mixing a little more in at a time until I achieve the dough. You absolutely have to be a little flexible with this, and not get hung up on exact measurement with the sugar. Just add it gradually. I agree that it is very sweet, that's why I like to use chunky peanut butter, and maybe sprinkle in a dash of sea salt on finished pieces for that salty/sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States