Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was an amazing recipe. I had never made liver with gravy before. I omitted the bell peppers only because I neglected to buy any when I bought the liver. I also forgot to put in any wine. Not sure I even have any. I will be making this again and will try it with the bell peppers next time. I did take a picture but for some reason the site keeps telling me we did not get your photo try submitting it again. Over and over again. Ah well. I will share my photo on facebook and my review as well. Loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this for my husband, and though I didn't try it, I have to give it the full 5 stars for his reaction. I had no peppers, nor did I have any mushrooms, but otherwise made this pretty much as is. I did follow a suggestion from years ago to soak the liver first in milk for about an hour. I did dredge the meat in flour seasoned with salt and pepper when frying, too. My husband really loved the gravy. I will make this again exactly as written. Thanks for a special dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Oh My Goodness...I recently found an awesome deal on calf's liver and bought about twenty pounds to freeze (yes, we love liver)so I've been experimenting with all the liver recipes here. Well, I think I have found my favorite!! This is so delicious. I was skeptical since I have never made liver without a flour breading or with mushrooms but skeptic I am no more! My 15 year old daughter is the only one in our house that claimed to hate liver and refused to eat it but when she reluctantly tasted this, she declared she now loves it and has asked for this again already. We are planning her sweet 16 party and her best friend was over here and when I asked them what they wanted for supper, she asked me to make this for her friend!!! That is a true testament to the success for a recipe. The absolute only change I made and recommend to this great recipe is to soak the liver in milk for an hour or so to take out the stereotypical strong bitter flavor. I actually love that flavor since I grew up eating it that way but my family prefers the milder taste. Thank you beadanurse for passing this gem onto all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A great recipe for anyone with an assortment of vegetables looming in their refrigerator waiting to be tastefully used. All you need is some elbow grease and a good knife and you'll soon be enjoying a nutritious meal of one of my favorite cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was my first time cooking liver, and I picked this recipe for guidance. I didn't have bell peppers, so it was just liver and onions. I had a small salad and biscuits with it. It was awesome! I was wondering if I would get the "bad smell" people talk about when cooking liver, but I never got it. It smelled great! Husband approved, and the biscuits were great for mopping up leftover gravy. I will definitely try this again sometime with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
with thin sliced liver you must subtract on cooking time (1/2 of stated time). otherwise, the dish was okay, but i've done better and will go back to my regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
For folks who say the liver was a bit tough, be sure you are using calve's liver that has been skinnex & deveined. There are a lot of tough, thick livers in the meat cases these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Amazing recipe. I got sick of liver and onions as a kid because we had it quite regularly and I'll admit I haven't had liver and onions in about 25 years till I tried this recipe and fell in love with it again. My dad enjoyed the recipe as well and said it reminded him of the way his mother made liver and onions when he was a child. I've got 2 more packs of calf liver in the freezer and i'll be using this recipe for those two packs as well Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
If you soak the liver in milk about an hour b4 cooking it takes some of the stong liver tast away. Other then that this recipe is spot on yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
tom loves it. i soaked in milk as instructed but could soak longer or soak in salt water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States