Irish Heritage Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Easy and great tasting. I love cabbage and this was terrific! I made it as a side dish for an Irish-themed dinner. Used regular bacon, a little less nutmeg and a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
A great "mild" cabbage dish, with just the right amount of zing from the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
The first time I ever liked Cabbage! I made this easy recipie for St. Pattys day with a couple small modifications: I added an eighth of a teaspoon of garlic to the melted butter and I used diced Turkey Ham instead of bacon. It was delicious! Everyone enjoyed it and I liked it so much that I am saving the recipie to incorporate into our regular diet and to modify for future dishes (going to see if the same recipie works well with brussle sprouts...could be fun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was really tasty and easy to put together. I love that I'm able to enjoy it as I low-carb diet. I add extra bacon (because I love the stuff) and omit the nutmeg (strictly personal preference) and it was still yummy. I'll be making this on St. Patty's day with potatoes and corned beef. Thank you for a great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was a big hit at our St. Patrick's day dinner this year. Most people said they didn't really like cabbage but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've been searching for a way to deconstruct Corn Beef and Cabbage for this St. Paddy's Day. We taste tested this recipe tonight and the family loves it. I tried it both with and without the vinegar. The vinegar stays by unanimous consensus. I liked it so much I created an account on here so I could write my first review! Thanks ChristinaBunny for the idea of adding garlic to the butter. I did that just before melting and I really like the results. Thank you Joelsgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I love cabbage and this recipe was pretty good. I don't think I used the full 2 teaspoons of nutmeg, I just lightly grated nutmeg over the cabbage. Was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I've struggled in finding 'good' cabbage recipies. This was REALLY great - was not too overdone, and the presentation is nice with the wedges and the nutmeg sprinkled on top. (I've always put nutmeg on my cabbage) I served with Herb-Ox Red-Skinned Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Melody's Glazed Corned Beef - it was a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
alright! this was VERY tasty! I am Irish (born there) so am missing cabbage and had to try this on today St. Patricks Day ;) I altered the recipe some by just shredding the cabbage and boiling it. I fried oh maybe 6 slices of American bacon and totally trimmed the fat, added some slivers of yellow onion fried crisply and tossed these both on the drained cabbage. I added salt and pepper (NO vinegar) and some melted IRISH butter (Kerry gold) and then broiled as recommended. It was absolutely delicious! I served with roast chciken and yellow rice! Definitely will make agaiN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Lawlor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was excellent! I was making the recipe from the UK Allrecipes site, and noticed it was on here to. Please note: I did change it up, to taste, a bit. I made 1/2 recipe, as I only needed 2 servings. I cooked some Smithfield thick cut bacon, in the microwave, in a covered bacon cooker. That was very easy to do. I halved the recipe but kept the water and bacon the same. I left out the nutmeg because I do not like it. I didn't notice the vinegar, in the recipe, but it was good without it. I liked cutting the cabbage into wedges instead of shredding it, like most other recipes with cabbage. I boiled the cabbage at about 8 and then simmered it at 3 for the 15 minutes. I did not see a reason to broil the cabbage and possibly burn it at the end. Sorry, for all of the changes, but it was really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States