Irish Heritage Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
alright! this was VERY tasty! I am Irish (born there) so am missing cabbage and had to try this on today St. Patricks Day ;) I altered the recipe some by just shredding the cabbage and boiling it. I fried oh maybe 6 slices of American bacon and totally trimmed the fat, added some slivers of yellow onion fried crisply and tossed these both on the drained cabbage. I added salt and pepper (NO vinegar) and some melted IRISH butter (Kerry gold) and then broiled as recommended. It was absolutely delicious! I served with roast chciken and yellow rice! Definitely will make agaiN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Lawlor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
The first time I ever liked Cabbage! I made this easy recipie for St. Pattys day with a couple small modifications: I added an eighth of a teaspoon of garlic to the melted butter and I used diced Turkey Ham instead of bacon. It was delicious! Everyone enjoyed it and I liked it so much that I am saving the recipie to incorporate into our regular diet and to modify for future dishes (going to see if the same recipie works well with brussle sprouts...could be fun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I can't rate this one. I would never want to try this again and my guy thought it was excellent! We are both lovers of cabbage and we liked the ingredients in it - it rarely happens that we are so divided but it happened with this dish. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was really tasty and easy to put together. I love that I'm able to enjoy it as I low-carb diet. I add extra bacon (because I love the stuff) and omit the nutmeg (strictly personal preference) and it was still yummy. I'll be making this on St. Patty's day with potatoes and corned beef. Thank you for a great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
A great "mild" cabbage dish, with just the right amount of zing from the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I've struggled in finding 'good' cabbage recipies. This was REALLY great - was not too overdone, and the presentation is nice with the wedges and the nutmeg sprinkled on top. (I've always put nutmeg on my cabbage) I served with Herb-Ox Red-Skinned Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Melody's Glazed Corned Beef - it was a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've been searching for a way to deconstruct Corn Beef and Cabbage for this St. Paddy's Day. We taste tested this recipe tonight and the family loves it. I tried it both with and without the vinegar. The vinegar stays by unanimous consensus. I liked it so much I created an account on here so I could write my first review! Thanks ChristinaBunny for the idea of adding garlic to the butter. I did that just before melting and I really like the results. Thank you Joelsgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
really did not care for this. Too much nutmeg. I might try again with less nutmeg, more bacon and maybe some onion as I do like cabbage and always looking for ways to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was a big hit at our St. Patrick's day dinner this year. Most people said they didn't really like cabbage but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
While very easy to make, I just wasn't a fan of the flavor of this. I think it was the nutmeg. I will try the basic recipe again, but change the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States