Irish Heritage Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a very good recipe - something a little different than what you typically see. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
The first time I ever liked Cabbage! I made this easy recipie for St. Pattys day with a couple small modifications: I added an eighth of a teaspoon of garlic to the melted butter and I used diced Turkey Ham instead of bacon. It was delicious! Everyone enjoyed it and I liked it so much that I am saving the recipie to incorporate into our regular diet and to modify for future dishes (going to see if the same recipie works well with brussle sprouts...could be fun!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Had at least one cabbage lover but even they were not that impressed. Even so, it was certainly better than standard boiled cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
A great "mild" cabbage dish, with just the right amount of zing from the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Easy and great tasting. I love cabbage and this was terrific! I made it as a side dish for an Irish-themed dinner. Used regular bacon, a little less nutmeg and a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I can't rate this one. I would never want to try this again and my guy thought it was excellent! We are both lovers of cabbage and we liked the ingredients in it - it rarely happens that we are so divided but it happened with this dish. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
alright! this was VERY tasty! I am Irish (born there) so am missing cabbage and had to try this on today St. Patricks Day ;) I altered the recipe some by just shredding the cabbage and boiling it. I fried oh maybe 6 slices of American bacon and totally trimmed the fat, added some slivers of yellow onion fried crisply and tossed these both on the drained cabbage. I added salt and pepper (NO vinegar) and some melted IRISH butter (Kerry gold) and then broiled as recommended. It was absolutely delicious! I served with roast chciken and yellow rice! Definitely will make agaiN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Lawlor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I've struggled in finding 'good' cabbage recipies. This was REALLY great - was not too overdone, and the presentation is nice with the wedges and the nutmeg sprinkled on top. (I've always put nutmeg on my cabbage) I served with Herb-Ox Red-Skinned Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Melody's Glazed Corned Beef - it was a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States