Irish Heritage Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've been searching for a way to deconstruct Corn Beef and Cabbage for this St. Paddy's Day. We taste tested this recipe tonight and the family loves it. I tried it both with and without the vinegar. The vinegar stays by unanimous consensus. I liked it so much I created an account on here so I could write my first review! Thanks ChristinaBunny for the idea of adding garlic to the butter. I did that just before melting and I really like the results. Thank you Joelsgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I didn't care for this one. Guess I'm a purist, but I just didn't think that the nutmeg was a good choice to go with cabbage. It seemed to clash with the taste of the bacon and the vinegar. I'll stick to steaming and serving with malt vinegar from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was excellent! I was making the recipe from the UK Allrecipes site, and noticed it was on here to. Please note: I did change it up, to taste, a bit. I made 1/2 recipe, as I only needed 2 servings. I cooked some Smithfield thick cut bacon, in the microwave, in a covered bacon cooker. That was very easy to do. I halved the recipe but kept the water and bacon the same. I left out the nutmeg because I do not like it. I didn't notice the vinegar, in the recipe, but it was good without it. I liked cutting the cabbage into wedges instead of shredding it, like most other recipes with cabbage. I boiled the cabbage at about 8 and then simmered it at 3 for the 15 minutes. I did not see a reason to broil the cabbage and possibly burn it at the end. Sorry, for all of the changes, but it was really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I love cabbage and this recipe was pretty good. I don't think I used the full 2 teaspoons of nutmeg, I just lightly grated nutmeg over the cabbage. Was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great way to add some flavor to cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
really did not care for this. Too much nutmeg. I might try again with less nutmeg, more bacon and maybe some onion as I do like cabbage and always looking for ways to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was a big hit at our St. Patrick's day dinner this year. Most people said they didn't really like cabbage but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
While very easy to make, I just wasn't a fan of the flavor of this. I think it was the nutmeg. I will try the basic recipe again, but change the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was really tasty and easy to put together. I love that I'm able to enjoy it as I low-carb diet. I add extra bacon (because I love the stuff) and omit the nutmeg (strictly personal preference) and it was still yummy. I'll be making this on St. Patty's day with potatoes and corned beef. Thank you for a great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I found it greasy. I would recommend reducing the butter used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States