Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These were great! After reading the other reviews, I used softened butter instead of shortening, and used a small cookie scoop to shape them. I also rolled them in raw sugar - larger crystals with a beautiful golden color. Took them to a gathering and got rave reviews. They looked store-bought, but tasted just right, crisp without being hard and crunchy! I did have to bake them about 12 minutes on my stones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
These were very good. The only thing that I would do differently next time is to cut back on the shortening. 3/4 C seemed to make the cookies taste a bit greasy. Perhaps 1/2 C may work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Yummy! I followed the instructions to make the shortening equal to butter (added 4 tbs. water) and doubled the ginger. It rolled perfectly without sticking to my hands. I wasn't sure if I'd have enough left to make cookies as I couldn't stop pinching the dough! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENZA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
So far excellent! I'm a crazy Irish pastry chef so of course I didn't do them as the recipe "dictated" per se....so I have a wheat allergy, so spelt flour instead, I used 1/2 cup BUTTER, I made up a basic royal icing of 1 c icing sugar, 1 egg white and some vanilla and threw it all over the cookies like in the pic because it looks just so nice and just to make things even more different, I rolled half of mine in sugar, ran off, grabbed a bag of ground almonds, rolled most of the remainder in that and then just for fun I rolled 3 in coconut. So far I've only tasted the almond ones and they are MOST excellent. The rest are in the oven, I'll let you know how they taste when the time comes. Thanks:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I love these cookies, thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I make it exactly the way the recipe instructs and they are always wonderful. I just have one observation. Generally ginger snaps have ginger and molassas in them. These are more the flavor, texture, look and taste of Snickerdoddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. I used butter instead of shortening - reduced it by 2 tablespoons and cooked them for 12 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I adjusted the recipe a bit, using 1/4 cup butter in place of some of the shortening, and doubling the ginger. I really liked these cookies, and so did my kids. If you make them the size the recipe says (teaspoonful), you will get 83 cookies - I did. And they are the typical gingersnap size. I did not have any issues with the dough holding together. Perhaps those cooks who did used too small of an egg, or are not experienced with cookie making? I did press mine down a bit with a glass, like most gingersnap recipes say to; I figured this recipe accidentally left that part out. I baked mine on stones, so they needed more like 7-8 minutes instead of 5-6. Watch out, they are quite addictive!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I decided to try a new gingersnap recipe, and this is not it! The cookies HAD to be cooked longer, and they turned out so hard the kids wouldn't eat them. I would advise using oil instead of shortening, adding 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water, and baking 8-12 minutes. I have, in the meantime, found a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Great Cookie but you have to make sure you do make small balls, increase the bake time 10 min and don't judge them by color or you will over do them and they will be hard. This will make a great addition to a Christmas tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies were very quick and easy to make and had a great flavor. The other "raters" were right in that you must cook these for 15 minutes, not 5. I am taking them to a cookie exchange tomorrow and am sure all will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States