Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I tried this recipe because we had no molasses in the house. This was a mistake. The batter did not come together at all. I eventually used water as suggested in one of the other reviews. It worked, but the resulting cookies were bland. I could have saved myself a lot of trouble and gotten store bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These were great! After reading the other reviews, I used softened butter instead of shortening, and used a small cookie scoop to shape them. I also rolled them in raw sugar - larger crystals with a beautiful golden color. Took them to a gathering and got rave reviews. They looked store-bought, but tasted just right, crisp without being hard and crunchy! I did have to bake them about 12 minutes on my stones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies were very quick and easy to make and had a great flavor. The other "raters" were right in that you must cook these for 15 minutes, not 5. I am taking them to a cookie exchange tomorrow and am sure all will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Great Cookie but you have to make sure you do make small balls, increase the bake time 10 min and don't judge them by color or you will over do them and they will be hard. This will make a great addition to a Christmas tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Incredibly easy and fun to make. Also very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
These are great! A snap in name only, nicely spiced. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This was a hit!!!!! Everyone liked it. My husband liked it so much he asked me to make a whole batch just for him...I didn't of course=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
This is a good recipe if you move the baking time up by 10 minutes. Since all of my "kids" are big, I use a small scoop to make the rounds, after I roll them in the sugar I dip a glass bottem in sugar and flatten the balls down, then bake for 15-16 minutes. My guys LOVE them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This recipe is a good cookie that is not too sweet or spicy. It's an enjoyable cookie to young and old. The baking time should be 15 to 16 mins. to bake until done. It's not a browning-type cookie but has nice crackles on top. The kids loved making this cookie. It's easy and fast. ljfausey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I decided to try a new gingersnap recipe, and this is not it! The cookies HAD to be cooked longer, and they turned out so hard the kids wouldn't eat them. I would advise using oil instead of shortening, adding 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water, and baking 8-12 minutes. I have, in the meantime, found a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States