Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Fast and easy recipe! I substituded butter for shortening, due to personal preference. They were so good I made a double batch. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Love these cookies! Dough was crumbly, so rolling the balls took a little more time. I also flattened the balls with a drinking glass bottom and increased the cooking time to 12 minutes. They turned out perfect. All five of my kids really like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I gave this recipe two stars because I liked the flavor of these cookies but not much else.The dough was dry and five minutes wasn't nearly long enough in my oven. I will look for another ginger snap recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I read the reviews before I tried this and I have to be honest I was skepitcal. I too added 4 tsp water and I really don't know how you could rate this lower than 5 stars. Perfect and yummy. I baked on a stone and 10 minutes was a good time. I also made them small and pressed with juice glass! My 5 and 3 year olds loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
These were very good. The only thing that I would do differently next time is to cut back on the shortening. 3/4 C seemed to make the cookies taste a bit greasy. Perhaps 1/2 C may work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I tried this recipe because we had no molasses in the house. This was a mistake. The batter did not come together at all. I eventually used water as suggested in one of the other reviews. It worked, but the resulting cookies were bland. I could have saved myself a lot of trouble and gotten store bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These were great! After reading the other reviews, I used softened butter instead of shortening, and used a small cookie scoop to shape them. I also rolled them in raw sugar - larger crystals with a beautiful golden color. Took them to a gathering and got rave reviews. They looked store-bought, but tasted just right, crisp without being hard and crunchy! I did have to bake them about 12 minutes on my stones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies were very quick and easy to make and had a great flavor. The other "raters" were right in that you must cook these for 15 minutes, not 5. I am taking them to a cookie exchange tomorrow and am sure all will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Great Cookie but you have to make sure you do make small balls, increase the bake time 10 min and don't judge them by color or you will over do them and they will be hard. This will make a great addition to a Christmas tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Incredibly easy and fun to make. Also very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States