Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
These cookies were very yummy. I increased the amount of spices to 1 1/2 teaspoons of each. I also used a glass to squish them down just a bit. They did bake for 10 minutes and turned out perfect. Thanks to other reviewers for ideas. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I rolled mine in raw sugar, they were great! I'm 10, so I brought a batch in to my class for a school project. These ginger snaps are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These cookies turned out o.k. but not much flavor. I had to add about 1/4 cup of water to make it hold together and it took 9 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
i had an international food festaval at school and my country was ireland. i took these cookies and they were a big hit. a couple thing i found odd though was that the cookies did not spread out and i had to bake them for 10 minutes. anyways thanks for this recipe it is definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Very poor texture. Hard to get off of cookie sheet. Taste ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These cookies really surprised me. When they got hard on the outside, like traditional ginger snaps, they were still soft on the inside. The "hard" layer on the outside gave the cookies a great contrast in texture. Even more surprising was that the looked nothing like the picture. My batch turned out light yellow and didn't flatten out. They were delicious cookies and I really thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
It was really good! I made them to my friends and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedok South, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Yummy! I followed the instructions to make the shortening equal to butter (added 4 tbs. water) and doubled the ginger. It rolled perfectly without sticking to my hands. I wasn't sure if I'd have enough left to make cookies as I couldn't stop pinching the dough! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
These cookies are awesome!I make them quite a bit.I do add a bit of milk so that they stay together better but other than that follow the recipe exactly.Thanks for this Linda G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSWEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Fast and easy, my 15 year old had to make for a project at school. We were almost out of white sugar so she used brown sugar in cookies. They turned out very good. They took 8-10 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States