Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I didn't like these at all, but my son did. They are nothing like traditional gingersnaps, they are not brown, but light in color with brown specs from the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
For some reason, I could not get the dough to form properly. It was very crumbly and as a result, I rolled them into larger balls and overbaked them because I couldn't judge these right. Maybe the dough needs to be refrigerated for a while to allow the dough to form properly before baking. The taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I love these cookies, thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I make it exactly the way the recipe instructs and they are always wonderful. I just have one observation. Generally ginger snaps have ginger and molassas in them. These are more the flavor, texture, look and taste of Snickerdoddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Awesome cookie! I also substituted butter with a few tablespoons of water for the shortening, and the cookie came out soft and moist. I didn't have the patience to roll out all the cookies, so I just spooned them on the sheet and sprinkled sugar on the top. Crystalized ginger bits also make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very yummy cookies. I read other reviews and made a few changes as well. I chose to add 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and only 1/2 tsp. of ginger (I dont care for the overpowering flavor of ginger.) I used 3/4 c. softened butter instead of the shortening and used 1 1/2 tbsp. of milk. I baked these cookies around 8-8 1/2 minutes, then allowed them to cool for maybe 1 minute before I took them off the sheet. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
These cookies were very yummy. I increased the amount of spices to 1 1/2 teaspoons of each. I also used a glass to squish them down just a bit. They did bake for 10 minutes and turned out perfect. Thanks to other reviewers for ideas. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I rolled mine in raw sugar, they were great! I'm 10, so I brought a batch in to my class for a school project. These ginger snaps are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These cookies turned out o.k. but not much flavor. I had to add about 1/4 cup of water to make it hold together and it took 9 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
i had an international food festaval at school and my country was ireland. i took these cookies and they were a big hit. a couple thing i found odd though was that the cookies did not spread out and i had to bake them for 10 minutes. anyways thanks for this recipe it is definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Very poor texture. Hard to get off of cookie sheet. Taste ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States