Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
After reading many reviews I substituted 1 stick (1/2 C) butter for shortening and put a total of 1 1/2 t. ginger. Baked on my cookie stone, added additional cooking time. These are very, very yummy. Reminds me of Christmas time. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
AMAZINGLY YUMMY! Possibly our family's new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I substituted 10 tablespoons of butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white, and a generous amount of fresh grated ginger for the teaspoon of ground. My cookies turned out soft (which is how I prefer them, anyway) and absolutely delicious! Pressing them flat with a glass or a fork before baking helps, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a quick & simple recipe. They did seem a bit more like snicker doodles than ginger snaps, but still tasty. I substituted 3/4c. whipped butter for the shortening, I didn't have ground ginger, so I used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg instead, and I also added 1/4c. water, which I think was really helpful. Definitely do NOT judge these cookies being done by the color, I suggest baking them 10 minutes tops, any longer and they will become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Replaced the shortening with butter, and cut it down a bit. Next time I'll add more of the seasonings. Came out delicate and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These are really easy to make and I had no problem getting the dough to stick together. I can't imagine what might have caused some reviewer's dough to be too crumbly. I had less ginger than required so I made up for the difference with cinnamon and used 1/2 tsp. allspice, as well, so they were more spice cookies than ginger cookies. They were great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These are very good cookies but I did make a few changes. I read some of the other reviews that suggested using butter instead of shortning. I used 1/2 cup or 1 stick of softened butter. I only used 1/2 t of cloves and 1 1/2 t of ginger since I prefer ginger. Also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of molasses for extra taste. I didn't roll the cookies in a ball, just dropped by teaspoon and baked for about 14 minutes. Must have been an error in the baking time given. Since I didn't roll them in sugar I drizzled thin icing when they were still warm. tip-- use parchment paper on the cookie pan and there is no clean up needed. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Dough was a bit on the dry side. They came out alright. I would suggest these to be served as a tea biscuit moreso than a traditional cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
OMGosh, these cookies are divine! I don't even like cinnamon, ginger, or clove! I just finished making these cookies for my husband & a friend. I only tasted them to check if they were done; I loved them so much I wrote this review (my first)! Used butter = to shortening; Added 1 T. of DARK molasses; Coated dough balls in either green or red sugar for Christmas colors; Used heavy stainless steel jelly roll pan and had to bake for 12 minutes; lightly greased the pans. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENZA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
So far excellent! I'm a crazy Irish pastry chef so of course I didn't do them as the recipe "dictated" per se....so I have a wheat allergy, so spelt flour instead, I used 1/2 cup BUTTER, I made up a basic royal icing of 1 c icing sugar, 1 egg white and some vanilla and threw it all over the cookies like in the pic because it looks just so nice and just to make things even more different, I rolled half of mine in sugar, ran off, grabbed a bag of ground almonds, rolled most of the remainder in that and then just for fun I rolled 3 in coconut. So far I've only tasted the almond ones and they are MOST excellent. The rest are in the oven, I'll let you know how they taste when the time comes. Thanks:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States