Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These are really easy to make and I had no problem getting the dough to stick together. I can't imagine what might have caused some reviewer's dough to be too crumbly. I had less ginger than required so I made up for the difference with cinnamon and used 1/2 tsp. allspice, as well, so they were more spice cookies than ginger cookies. They were great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These are very good cookies but I did make a few changes. I read some of the other reviews that suggested using butter instead of shortning. I used 1/2 cup or 1 stick of softened butter. I only used 1/2 t of cloves and 1 1/2 t of ginger since I prefer ginger. Also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of molasses for extra taste. I didn't roll the cookies in a ball, just dropped by teaspoon and baked for about 14 minutes. Must have been an error in the baking time given. Since I didn't roll them in sugar I drizzled thin icing when they were still warm. tip-- use parchment paper on the cookie pan and there is no clean up needed. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Dough was a bit on the dry side. They came out alright. I would suggest these to be served as a tea biscuit moreso than a traditional cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
OMGosh, these cookies are divine! I don't even like cinnamon, ginger, or clove! I just finished making these cookies for my husband & a friend. I only tasted them to check if they were done; I loved them so much I wrote this review (my first)! Used butter = to shortening; Added 1 T. of DARK molasses; Coated dough balls in either green or red sugar for Christmas colors; Used heavy stainless steel jelly roll pan and had to bake for 12 minutes; lightly greased the pans. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENZA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
So far excellent! I'm a crazy Irish pastry chef so of course I didn't do them as the recipe "dictated" per se....so I have a wheat allergy, so spelt flour instead, I used 1/2 cup BUTTER, I made up a basic royal icing of 1 c icing sugar, 1 egg white and some vanilla and threw it all over the cookies like in the pic because it looks just so nice and just to make things even more different, I rolled half of mine in sugar, ran off, grabbed a bag of ground almonds, rolled most of the remainder in that and then just for fun I rolled 3 in coconut. So far I've only tasted the almond ones and they are MOST excellent. The rest are in the oven, I'll let you know how they taste when the time comes. Thanks:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
LOVED this recipe. Used whole wheat flour; used butter instead of shortening. Halved the recipe, but still used 1 whole egg. Baked 7 or 8 minutes, and while the cookies were rather soft coming out of the oven, a few minutes cooling on a plate made them perfect - just a slight crunch on the outside with soft, moist ginger cookie on the inside. Really, such an easy recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe was really easy to follow. Also, I made one modification to the recipe. Instead of using an egg, I used a 1/2 c. of mango puree. It came out just fine, and the little one that's allergic to eggs was able to enjoy the cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I adjusted the recipe a bit, using 1/4 cup butter in place of some of the shortening, and doubling the ginger. I really liked these cookies, and so did my kids. If you make them the size the recipe says (teaspoonful), you will get 83 cookies - I did. And they are the typical gingersnap size. I did not have any issues with the dough holding together. Perhaps those cooks who did used too small of an egg, or are not experienced with cookie making? I did press mine down a bit with a glass, like most gingersnap recipes say to; I figured this recipe accidentally left that part out. I baked mine on stones, so they needed more like 7-8 minutes instead of 5-6. Watch out, they are quite addictive!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
these are so good! i didn't have shortening, so i used butter, and baked them for about 7 minutes. i will add more ginger next time, they weren't quite as spicy as i like them, but they're still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. I used butter instead of shortening - reduced it by 2 tablespoons and cooked them for 12 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States