Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
After reading many reviews I substituted 1 stick (1/2 C) butter for shortening and put a total of 1 1/2 t. ginger. Baked on my cookie stone, added additional cooking time. These are very, very yummy. Reminds me of Christmas time. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
AMAZINGLY YUMMY! Possibly our family's new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I substituted 10 tablespoons of butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white, and a generous amount of fresh grated ginger for the teaspoon of ground. My cookies turned out soft (which is how I prefer them, anyway) and absolutely delicious! Pressing them flat with a glass or a fork before baking helps, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a quick & simple recipe. They did seem a bit more like snicker doodles than ginger snaps, but still tasty. I substituted 3/4c. whipped butter for the shortening, I didn't have ground ginger, so I used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg instead, and I also added 1/4c. water, which I think was really helpful. Definitely do NOT judge these cookies being done by the color, I suggest baking them 10 minutes tops, any longer and they will become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Replaced the shortening with butter, and cut it down a bit. Next time I'll add more of the seasonings. Came out delicate and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These are really easy to make and I had no problem getting the dough to stick together. I can't imagine what might have caused some reviewer's dough to be too crumbly. I had less ginger than required so I made up for the difference with cinnamon and used 1/2 tsp. allspice, as well, so they were more spice cookies than ginger cookies. They were great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These are very good cookies but I did make a few changes. I read some of the other reviews that suggested using butter instead of shortning. I used 1/2 cup or 1 stick of softened butter. I only used 1/2 t of cloves and 1 1/2 t of ginger since I prefer ginger. Also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of molasses for extra taste. I didn't roll the cookies in a ball, just dropped by teaspoon and baked for about 14 minutes. Must have been an error in the baking time given. Since I didn't roll them in sugar I drizzled thin icing when they were still warm. tip-- use parchment paper on the cookie pan and there is no clean up needed. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Dough was a bit on the dry side. They came out alright. I would suggest these to be served as a tea biscuit moreso than a traditional cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
OMGosh, these cookies are divine! I don't even like cinnamon, ginger, or clove! I just finished making these cookies for my husband & a friend. I only tasted them to check if they were done; I loved them so much I wrote this review (my first)! Used butter = to shortening; Added 1 T. of DARK molasses; Coated dough balls in either green or red sugar for Christmas colors; Used heavy stainless steel jelly roll pan and had to bake for 12 minutes; lightly greased the pans. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENZA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
So far excellent! I'm a crazy Irish pastry chef so of course I didn't do them as the recipe "dictated" per se....so I have a wheat allergy, so spelt flour instead, I used 1/2 cup BUTTER, I made up a basic royal icing of 1 c icing sugar, 1 egg white and some vanilla and threw it all over the cookies like in the pic because it looks just so nice and just to make things even more different, I rolled half of mine in sugar, ran off, grabbed a bag of ground almonds, rolled most of the remainder in that and then just for fun I rolled 3 in coconut. So far I've only tasted the almond ones and they are MOST excellent. The rest are in the oven, I'll let you know how they taste when the time comes. Thanks:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States