Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Replaced shortening with butter and baked cookies for longer (10 to 15 minutes). Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Thought the clove amount was too overbearing, will cut down to 1/2 tsp next time. Cooked on my PChef stone for 14 min and they were perfect, soft and yet firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alisajulie
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great Cookie Recipe! I made these for people to snack on during a presentation and they loved them. They were better than normal ginger snaps that get "break your teeth" hard. They were really good. I am going to make them again. I did add confectioner's icing as seen in the pictures. It made them a lot prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
not sure how they taste yet but i had a hard time mixing them together as a dough. it was way to crumbly and dry. i used a crisco style shortening and used the instructions that were posted but they still wouldnt come together. i added some milk to bind everything so it wasnt so dry. i hope they come out and arent tough. this recipe needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I doubled the ginger and used 1-1/4 cups of butter instead of shortening. I took one reviewer's advice and used a glass bottom to flatten. Cooked perfectly in exactly 7 minutes. Absolutely delicious: they were all being eaten within minutes of being served, still warm and soft from the oven. Without the extra ginger, I have a feeling these would have been very snickerdoodle-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
After reading many reviews I substituted 1 stick (1/2 C) butter for shortening and put a total of 1 1/2 t. ginger. Baked on my cookie stone, added additional cooking time. These are very, very yummy. Reminds me of Christmas time. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
AMAZINGLY YUMMY! Possibly our family's new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I substituted 10 tablespoons of butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white, and a generous amount of fresh grated ginger for the teaspoon of ground. My cookies turned out soft (which is how I prefer them, anyway) and absolutely delicious! Pressing them flat with a glass or a fork before baking helps, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a quick & simple recipe. They did seem a bit more like snicker doodles than ginger snaps, but still tasty. I substituted 3/4c. whipped butter for the shortening, I didn't have ground ginger, so I used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg instead, and I also added 1/4c. water, which I think was really helpful. Definitely do NOT judge these cookies being done by the color, I suggest baking them 10 minutes tops, any longer and they will become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Replaced the shortening with butter, and cut it down a bit. Next time I'll add more of the seasonings. Came out delicate and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States