Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These were SUPERB!! This is an older generation cookie! My daughters didn't like them that much... but my parents (in their 70's) and a WWII veteran friend of ours LOVED them so much. He's Irish too... so they were super special. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
thx for the recipe! these cookies are super easy to bake! am sure to get an A on my project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've been making Irish Ginger Cookies for 30+ years using my Great Grandmothers recipe which is nearly identical to this one. Only missing 1/4 cup of dark molasses. I'm guessing that's why everyone else has pictures posted of a nearly white cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
really good! fun and easy! They needed to be cooked longer but they were sweet and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These were good but I wouldn't call them ginger snaps. But really they were a good spiced cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used 1/4 cup butter. 1/2 cup shortening. I did have to use twice teh ginger for a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used margarine and to cook them for 12 minutes. They are wonderful. I will be making these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These are excellent cookies but very hard to tell when they're done. They are nice and soft in the centre, crisp outside, nice and spicy to taste. But pale as all get out. After the 1st batch, I raised the oven temp to 375f, then to 400 for the 3rd batch and I baked them for at least 10 minutes or more. One tray I put back in for 10mins more. I'm taking them to a St Patrick's Day dinner but I don't think I'll make them again. If I do, I'll add a little molasses for colour. I doubled the recipe to yield 82 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies are delicious and so easy! I used a small cookie scoop, then flattened with a large glass dipped in white sugar. I baked for about 10 minutes. I found it difficult to tell when they were done because they were so light in color. I took them out of the oven and allowed to continue cooking on the cookie sheet for a couple of minutes so that the bottoms dried. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These were absolutely amazing. One of the first things our company said was, 'Aren't ginger snaps supposed to be brown?' These ginger snaps are crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside, and after reading other reviews decided to use real butter instead of shortening. They were also quick and easy to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States