Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
Great tasting! The 5-6 minute cook time seems very low, at that time mine were still in hard balls. At aroung 8-9, they started to spread and then crackle on the top. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
These were really great! Not only did everyone enjoy them, but they were quick and easy too! Really made my life a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
These are absolutely delicious cookies, and unbelievably easy to make. The cooking time seems to be wrong though... at 6 minutes they weren't quite done so I kept adding minutes. I think 9 is probably right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
These cookies are yummy and very easy, but I can't imagine that anyone could bake them in 5-6 minutes. I baked two sheets together and it took over 20 minutes, then baked a single sheet (knowing that it wouldn't take as long), and it still took 17 minutes. They were tasty, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
These are nothing like the store bought ginger snaps...hard and thin, which I don't like at all. These were delicious. Thick, with a crackled top. 5-6 minutes definitely would not be enough...at 9-10 minutes, they were perfect. My family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I have tried this recipe twice, but can't figure out what I am doing wrong. It is SOO crumbly, I can't keep a particle the size of a pea together. The second time I tried a whole cup of shortening in hopes that it would help, but it was no better. Someone help me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Had a party and served these cookies with Irish coffee they were a hit!!!! Think it depends on how large or small you make the balls as to lenght of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
I was not at all impressed by this recipe. I had to add water to get them to stick together, they did not spread out and got overcooked on the bottom before they cooked in the middle. They tasted rather bland, not at all spicy or gingery. I will NOT be replacing my trusty old recipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
These cookies were good and crisp. Not very sweet. I only gave them four stars overall because my daughter didn't like them. They were fine for MOST of the adults, but not for children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Even men ask for this recipe! I have had to make these cookies 4 times in the past 2 weeks because they're so popular. Double the recipe - you'll want this many cookies. I use softened butter instead of shortening. Didn't have ground cloves so I ground up whole cloves, works just fine. Really easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States