Irish Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very easy and quick to make. I used butter instead of shortening - reduced it by 2 tablespoons and cooked them for 12 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very good flavor. Agree with other reviews, smaller balls, and more bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I doubled this recipe as well as substituted butter= to shortening. I used green food coloring to dye the dough a dark green color and I balled the dough, then rolled in raw sugar. These were great and went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I wish my cookies would have crackled like they did in the picture... I did use butter and not shortening, fresh ground ginger( gotta love that zesty flavor) and I rolled half in raw sugar and half in white sugar. Next time I'm going to make them with different butter components and see what I like better. I do recommend fresh ginger! and I'd put a almond or cream cheese icing on them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These are not the type of ginger cookies I was looking for. The cook time needs to be increased and I feel that I wasted my money on the ingredients. Please send me a full refund!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I did a straight substitution of softened butter for the shortening and then rolled the cookies in brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also had to bake them about 10-12 minutes, at 5-6 they were still raw. The brown sugar made a nice caramelized outside, everyone loved them! Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I didn't like these at all, but my son did. They are nothing like traditional gingersnaps, they are not brown, but light in color with brown specs from the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
For some reason, I could not get the dough to form properly. It was very crumbly and as a result, I rolled them into larger balls and overbaked them because I couldn't judge these right. Maybe the dough needs to be refrigerated for a while to allow the dough to form properly before baking. The taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I love these cookies, thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I make it exactly the way the recipe instructs and they are always wonderful. I just have one observation. Generally ginger snaps have ginger and molassas in them. These are more the flavor, texture, look and taste of Snickerdoddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Awesome cookie! I also substituted butter with a few tablespoons of water for the shortening, and the cookie came out soft and moist. I didn't have the patience to roll out all the cookies, so I just spooned them on the sheet and sprinkled sugar on the top. Crystalized ginger bits also make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States