Irish Flag Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I thought it was gret. You must not not not use generic powered sugar. You have to spring for the pure sugar cane, as it doesn't contain corn starch or something. It really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
ok frosting. nothing fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
We thought this frosting was AWSOME! It was a perfect finish to the Irish Flag cookies. Though we had to triple the amount of ingredients because we made too many cookies it tasted fabulous! Hope this review helped! - Emma & Sierra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kama Derksen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
just as good as the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Frosting (really it's a glaze as everyone has mentioned) is super sweet. You can add water to thin it down or you can add confectioner's sugar to thicken it. I found that using a butter knife worked ok to spread it - I just had to be really careful about not blending the lines of colors on the flags. I got better spreading the frosting as I continued. If you have the frosting a little more watery, it helps to blend and become more smooth looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe should be changed to "ICING" instead of frosting. This recipe is PERFECT for this type of cookie - it spreads easily, then evens itself out to a nice, smooth finish. BUT - it does not really taste good alone. It definitely needs to be on a butter cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is the perfect glaze for the irish flag cookies. Don't expect a typical "frosting". Because the vanilla makes it cream colored, I made an additional 1/2 batch w/o vanilla for a middle white stripe. I liked that it hardens fairly quickly...if you apply one color stripe to all the cookies, by the time you move on to the next color-the first has dried. Just stir in a drop or two of water to your bowl if needed. I like the glaze on the thinner side-very smooth and pretty on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
It did get hard quick but it worked perfectly for frosting the cookies. It's more like a glaze than frosting but it worked great for the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
the frosting got hard to quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States