Irish Flag Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I've been making these cookies for at least 30 years. I thought, hey it's missing something. 1/2 tsp. almond extract along with the vanilla. If you don't like almond, up the vanilla to a extra 1/2 tsp., instead of the one. Also, you have to refrigerate this cookie for at least 2 hours then you don't have to add extra flour that probably is why it tastes so bland with all the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Good, fast and real easy, tasty things had to beat people away just so i could frost them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by curly girl
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The recipe is a pretty thick sugar/butter cookie. I cooked mine for 13 minutes and that worked well. I didn't have cream of tartar so I substituted one tsp of baking powder for the cream of tartar AND the baking soda. I had to add an additional 1 1/4 cup of flour to make it a consistency that would roll OK. (I also threw in a little additional vanilla and confectioner's sugar so it wouldn't throw off the taste too much by adding so much additional flour.) Still, all in all, a fun cookie for St. Patrick's Day or to celebrate the Irish! I'm considering dipping the bottom of the cookie in chocolate to give it a little more flavor. It's good by itself, just a little plain is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was very fun to make and very delicious! These are the best-ever sugar cookies and are a great dessert for st. patrick's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kama Derksen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
The cookies weren't very tasty and frosting the cookies wasn't as easy as it looked. I tried using a brush and then a butter knife, but then just gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My 3 and 5 year old had so much fun helping me bake and decorate these cookies. So cute and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Dough was very easy to work with. Cooked 10-12 min on an air-bake pan. The flags were adorable-took to a St Patty's party so I made mine a little smaller than the recommended 2x3. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very good. Simple icing. Use cookie cutter for seasonal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This recipe for cookies has gotten so many compilments.The best is when the 12 year old at a party I brought these cookies to couldn't stop eating them. I have shared the recipe with brides and I am actually using these for my own wedding as a favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
this was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States