Irish Dairy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This revisits a common recipe of a solid performer. This classic, standard pound cake recipe is so popular and so enduring because it’s delicious and turns out perfectly every time. On this occasion, I used the batter for cupcakes for my grandbaby’s Baptism. I filled them about 1/3 full, dotted them each with 1/2 tsp. of seedless raspberry jam, then added more batter to about 3/4 full. I baked them at 350 degrees about 23 minutes, then frosted them with a Vanilla Buttercream. The combination of the cake, the raspberry and the buttercream couldn’t have pleased me more. The flavor variations in this cake are limited only by your imagination – in this case I used 1-1/2 tsp. of clear vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond flavoring; but rum, coconut, orange, lemon are all just a few of the many interesting alternatives. Bake this dependable pound cake recipe with confidence, and beware of those recipes with changes in the amounts of sugar or, most particularly, butter. (Now, cross your fingers for me that these make it intact to Minneapolis tomorrow for Andrew’s Baptism!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This butter-bomb is not for the faint of heart (!), but it is outstanding. It resembles a rich pound cake. I sifted some powdered sugar on top, but thin slices would also be great with a fresh fruit sauce and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vashon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
OMG! BEST CAKE EVER! SO CREAMY AND DELICIOUS!!!! here is the link of the video i made :3 http://youtu.be/-swNlXJNn9U
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Egg-xactly what I was looking for...something Irish on St. Patrick's Day and a way to use up some of the excess eggs my hens are laying these days. My eggs were warmer than room temperature as they were straight from the hen house (yes, I did get pecked!) but the cake turned out incredible. So decadent! First class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made cupcakes using this recipe. They were little bundles of moist buttery goodness. I used cool whip buttercream frosting tinted orange for Halloween. Had to take them to work so we wouldn't eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious and very dense. I had to bake it for closer to 2 hours but it came out fine. I loved this because it's not super sweet and a great festive treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this cake exactly to the recipe. It baked up beautifully. The finished product turned out visually appealing, very full and dense. The flavor though was just okay for me though. It is, as other viewers have indicated, a very rich cake. This, in my opinion, is too rich of a cake to serve to guests for formal occasions or to family for informal occasions. Despite my lack of fervor for this cake, my husband quite enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Yum! So rich and heavy! I am in love! Thanks for the recipe. Cooked this with Reubens and fried cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Maybe I screwed something up; it wouldn't be the first time, but I did not care for this. Given all the wonderful, rich (and costly) ingredients, I would not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Tasted alright. Not terribly impressed but it was an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States