Irish Cream Truffle Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valleescooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this recipe as is for my fiance's parents' annual St. Patty's Day Party. This recipe made a TON of fudge and it was wonderful - creamy and smooth, but did it ever pack a punch with all the liqueur! You took your first bite and when you inhaled you could feel the fumes! Most of the people at the party (grown-ups) liked it, but several people couldn't eat a whole piece because it was too strong, and it is DEFINITELY not for sharing with the little ones. Next time, I will try using maybe 1/2 cup of Irish cream and 1/2 cup of regular cream to make the flavor a little more gentle. I don't want to mess with the consistency, because that was just perfect, but it may need to be toned down just a little...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I personally didn't enjoy this fudge very much. The alcohol was way too overpowering and just too sweet. My mother-in-law made her yearly batch of Christmas fudge (made with marshmallows) which was just sooooo much better. I will try to get a hold of her recipe and post it. I'm sorry, I wish I could give this a better review, I just think it needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
my hubby and brother inlaw who are both huge Bailey's fans absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
They were incredibly grainy and sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Sorry, this needs another name. It is not at all creamy like one would expect fudge to be. The flavor is fine, but it is not the expected consistency. It is dry, and very rich, almost like eating a chocolate bar, but sweeter. 4.5 stars is generous for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very good and very rich. I followed the recipe and then used a 9X13 and the fudge was still more than an inch thick. One problem encountered was that the recipe for the second layer was not enough for the surface area and I couldn't spread it out to cover all of it. Perhaps 1.5 the top layer ingredients and you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have made this recipe every christmas for the last 3 years. While I love the taste of it I find it very difficult to stir. When I put the semi-sweet morsels,white morsels and the butter together it gets like a brick. I need to have my husband stir it. The first time I made it I threw it out because I thought it had seized up on the double boiler from some water getting in it. I redid the recipe and it did the same thing so I just had my husband stir it and we continued on. I have tried with the double boiler and with melting them in the microwave and it doesn't matter it still is hard. I've read this sites comments but I don't see anyone else complaining about this. Does anyone have any idea of why this is happening or does this happen to everyone? Any Ideals to help this problem? I also just finished making it for this year and I had difficulty incorporating the butter in the top layer it had a lot of melted butter that I had to soak up- it seemed to separate. Any ideals on why this happened? Thanks for your help in advance. I do like this for the holidays and would like for this to be easier. Everyone have a Happy and safe holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is fantastic! I made it with a little less Irish Cream so the flavor would be more mild.....EXCELLENT! Family and Friends oooh-ed and aaah-ed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a great and easy fudge recipe! Made fudge the first time using this and one other recipe and it turned out great! I did not have a double boiler so I just used a pan on the stove over medium heat. Also did half semi-sweet and half milk chocolate as someone else wrote...since I don't love dark chocolate taste! Great one to make for adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Beckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States