Irish Cream Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
As others have mentioned, the flavor of the original recipe is rather on the light side. For a richer Irish Cream Flavor, double the Irish Cream to One (1) full cup, and also increase the whole egg plus one egg yolk to two full eggs. I found no need to mix the egg yolk into the batter prior to adding the whole egg; just add the whole eggs all at once. With this new formulation, the batter, immediately after mixing, is soft enough to be scooped into a piping bag and piped onto the cookie sheets. Done so, baked for the recommended time, makes excellent cookies with no need to refrigerate for hours and roll out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha D.
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
It was grat dough to work with! Super easy! I was able to FIX the "BLAND" flavour by adding 1/4th cup of Butterscotch Schanpps, just that little amount adds a wonderful sweetness to it that makes you want more! JUST ADD A 1/4 CUP BUTTERSCOTCH SHNAPPS and USE 3/4 CUP BAILY'S IRISH CREAM, and it is wicked yummy! My Family Loves it, the cookies didn't last 15 mintues once I brought them out! So Make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made the dough before I hit the sack, and baked them in the morning, which was a lot of fun. It was easy to make, and the dough was great to work with. But, the final product was rather disapointing. Nice and smooth, but not to great on flavor. The irish cream was hardly noticable. In order to spice thing up, I split the cookies in half and made them into sanwhich cookies, using the Sugar Cookies Frosting as my midle. I switched the milk+vanilla to irish cream, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I doubled the sugar for the cookies, rolled them into balls after chilling them, and flattened them with a glass dipped in powdered sugar. They tasted fine like that but to add some flavor after they cooled I made a glaze of powdered sugar, Irish cream, and a little Butterscotch schnaps. It really made the flavor pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and used more irish cream. These turned out great! I brought them to a cookie exchange and had a coworker ask for the recipe! My roommate and husband raved about them for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Added a bit extra Irish Cream, personal preferance, and they came out Wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat D ~ Dreamkat29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
We made these for our Culinary Arts class, and could not use the Irish Creme(alcohol), so we substituted Irish Creme coffee creamer(the liquid kind). The texture was great, the flavor lacked a little, but overall, good for a sugar cookie recipe. I would like to try frosting these using the coffee creamer as the milk in the buttercream frosting, to see if the flavor is enhanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
After the reviews I didnt want bland cookies so I added a half a cup of brown sugar a teaspoon of almond and an extra med sized egg. The results were so delicious! They were melt in your mouth yummy! Somewhat biscuit cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airisaiia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I baked the cookies just as the rcipes reads, no changes. After they were baked I added green sugar to the tops on some, green butter cream frosting to some and left a few plain. The cookie is tender and light in flavor. My husband and children loved them and asked for me to bake them again. Now, next time I make them I will change the amount of Irish Cream and follow the advice of a few others. I can not rate a recipe unless I make and bake it according to the original recipe. I feel this is a good cookie but a few changes could possibly make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These cookies had a very unique taste they were nice and flaky not overly sweet so maybe an icing would be good I'd say if you like Irish cream then these are worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States