Irish Cream Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made the dough before I hit the sack, and baked them in the morning, which was a lot of fun. It was easy to make, and the dough was great to work with. But, the final product was rather disapointing. Nice and smooth, but not to great on flavor. The irish cream was hardly noticable. In order to spice thing up, I split the cookies in half and made them into sanwhich cookies, using the Sugar Cookies Frosting as my midle. I switched the milk+vanilla to irish cream, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha D.
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
It was grat dough to work with! Super easy! I was able to FIX the "BLAND" flavour by adding 1/4th cup of Butterscotch Schanpps, just that little amount adds a wonderful sweetness to it that makes you want more! JUST ADD A 1/4 CUP BUTTERSCOTCH SHNAPPS and USE 3/4 CUP BAILY'S IRISH CREAM, and it is wicked yummy! My Family Loves it, the cookies didn't last 15 mintues once I brought them out! So Make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
VERY BLAND. NEEDS icing (mix cream cheese, icing sugar, and baileys)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
As others have mentioned, the flavor of the original recipe is rather on the light side. For a richer Irish Cream Flavor, double the Irish Cream to One (1) full cup, and also increase the whole egg plus one egg yolk to two full eggs. I found no need to mix the egg yolk into the batter prior to adding the whole egg; just add the whole eggs all at once. With this new formulation, the batter, immediately after mixing, is soft enough to be scooped into a piping bag and piped onto the cookie sheets. Done so, baked for the recommended time, makes excellent cookies with no need to refrigerate for hours and roll out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
We made these for our Culinary Arts class, and could not use the Irish Creme(alcohol), so we substituted Irish Creme coffee creamer(the liquid kind). The texture was great, the flavor lacked a little, but overall, good for a sugar cookie recipe. I would like to try frosting these using the coffee creamer as the milk in the buttercream frosting, to see if the flavor is enhanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I did not like these cookies. I had high hopes for this recipe, as I made the changes suggested by other reviewers--including doubling the amount of Irish creme liqueur and frosting them with cream cheese frosting (mixed with Bailey's and sugar)--to make them less bland. However, they still weren't very good. The cookies were too thick and they didn't taste very good--and I like Irish Cream. Don't bother making these--next St. Patrick's Day I will just make sugar cookies in the shape of Shamrocks and forget it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I doubled the Irish Cream as others had suggested. I made the first batch of cookies as drop cookies and they weren't so good. I rolled out the rest and they still weren't so good. They were just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These cookies had a very unique taste they were nice and flaky not overly sweet so maybe an icing would be good I'd say if you like Irish cream then these are worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I doubled the sugar for the cookies, rolled them into balls after chilling them, and flattened them with a glass dipped in powdered sugar. They tasted fine like that but to add some flavor after they cooled I made a glaze of powdered sugar, Irish cream, and a little Butterscotch schnaps. It really made the flavor pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I baked the cookies just as the rcipes reads, no changes. After they were baked I added green sugar to the tops on some, green butter cream frosting to some and left a few plain. The cookie is tender and light in flavor. My husband and children loved them and asked for me to bake them again. Now, next time I make them I will change the amount of Irish Cream and follow the advice of a few others. I can not rate a recipe unless I make and bake it according to the original recipe. I feel this is a good cookie but a few changes could possibly make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IowaIrish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States