Irish Cream Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Learning how to make Cream Brulee in cooking school was one of the first custard style desserts we had to learn to make. I could make them in my sleep. I didn't have access to my old recipes so I used this one. I'm not sure what happened, but it lost almost half it's volume when it was baked. I'm going to have to start over again and try a different methoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfect! I love this recipe it was so quick and easy and tasted delish! It works just fine with out the liquor (since I'm too young...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made 75 of these for my wedding - instead of cake. Easy to make, and I was able to make them almost a week in advance. A HUGE hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I made this today and it turned out perfectly. Tricks: Slowly bring the sugar and cream to temperature. It doesn't take long, I think medium heat may be too high. Also, slowly pour the cream mixture with the egg yolks. There will be a considerable amount of foam once all of the cream has been mixed; this is where straining it before it goes in the ramekins is so important. If it is not strained there will be a nasty layer on top. Update: I think I have perfected the recipe. Instead of using 1/3 cup of sugar use 1/2 cup. Also, instead of using vanilla extract using a vanilla bean. Split the vanilla bean in half, scrape out the inside, and place both in the heavy cream. Heat the creme and vanilla in a medium sauce pan. In a mixing bowl combine the egg yolks with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was so yummy!!!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The best dessert yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark in WI

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Really good--I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe was very good, but a little time consuming and not quite as good as another recipe on allrecipe.com. I used 3 Tbsp of Irish Cream and it gave it a subtle flavor. I followed the instructions for 50-60 min baking time so I set the timer for 40 minutes and they were totally overdone. Next time i'll try 25-30 minutes. I had no problems with the eggs scrambling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MICHELLEK0806
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My 14 year old daughter made this for a french class assignment... we sub'd Caramel Bailys for the Irish Cream and our ramekins were a bit deep so it took a little longer cook time but this turned out excellent. Broiled the sugar on top under the broiler and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
WOW I have to wholeheartedly say, this is probably the best recipe I've pulled from this site. Hubby and I were at a fancy restaurant the other day and had some superb creme brulee, so of course I wanted to try at home. This is even better. It's a tad time consuming, but not really all that difficult. I heated the cream and sugar to about 140 degrees with no problems. I whisked briskly but tried to not get it frothy. I had no lumps or froth. The hardest part is dealing with the water bath, transferring everything in and out of the oven. Mine made 4 medium and 3 small ramekins. All set up absolutely perfect. Husband had a fun time torching the sugar in the raw we used on the top. Which by the way, tasted great but was probably too course to melt exactly right. Simply unbelievable texture and taste! The irish cream with the creme brulee is divine and melds perfectly. Reviewers aren't joking, the irish cream flavor comes through very well. I might even lower the amount if I make it again. I will definitely make this again the next time I have a craving, or if I truly want to impress someone at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States