Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this for my husband's dad's birthday. He said his family LOVED it (I missed the party), but I wasn't a huge fan. I guess maybe it's because I'm more used to the texture of an unbaked cheesecake - I never realized there was such a difference between baked & unbaked. It seemed too dense, really heavy, super rich, which I didn't love, but apparently that's how baked cheesecakes are supposed to be (my husband tells me). So he would have given it 5 stars, and I would have given it 3, so I averaged it out to 4. I also did chocolate graham crackers instead of chocolate cookies for the crust as a few reviewers had recommended, and you couldn't tell the difference, and I used reduced fat cream cheese & sour cream. The flavor of it was good, it was just the richness/density that I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foursixquebec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I've made this a few times now and I always get so many compliments on how good the cheesecake looks and tastes!!! I like to use the dark chocolate wafer cookies for the crust but resorted to using two Oreo readymade crusts. I simply crushed them and pressed them to the bottom of my springform pan.I didn't add any other ingredients for the crust. Used 1/2 cup Irish cream and instead of doing a water bath, I put a pan of water on the shelf beneath the cheesecake! No cracks! The trick is to let the cake cool in the oven for a few hours (no peeking in!) The slower it cools, the less chance for cracks plus the sides will not stick either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is the second time I've made this. It came out perfectly. I used a non stick spring form pan, sprayed it well and put parchment on the bottom. wrapped the bottom in foil and used a water bath. This seems like a loot of work but it really makes a difference. No cracks!. The ONLY change to the recipe at all is it took 1 1/2 hours at 250, after the initial 450. be patient, dont open the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This cheesecake it perfect! I melted mint chocolate candies and swirled them on the top of this cheesecake before baking and instead of using the regular Oreos i used Mint Oreos. Perfect cheese cake for St. Patricks Day! Will definantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Delicious!! I made it exactly as stated and it was enjoyed by all! I used chocolate teddy grahams for the crust b/c I couldn't find chocolate cookies. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Sayville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! I took the advice of one of the reviewers and did a steam bath (as opposed to a water bath) and it looked beautiful. It was a little underdone in the middle so I'll give it an extra 5 min next time - don't know if that was because of the steam bath. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorie_k_r
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This cheesecake was a hit last night with our guests on St. Pattie's Day. I followed some of the tips recommended by reviewers and used granulated sugar instead of icing sugar. The only icing sugar I used was to decorate the top. I also floured the pan and cooked it with a pan of hot water underneath. As you can see from the 'shamrock' pic, there was only one slight crack. This is a 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
DELICIOUS! Made this for our St. Patrick's Day dessert and everyone LOVED it! Topped it w/ a homemade chocolate mousse...perfect! Will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is not a cheesecake. It is a mousse. I added more Irish Cream as was suggested, and this desert was absolutely tastless except for the crust. It didn't taste bad. It just didn't have any taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very good-I didn't change a thing! Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States