Irish Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Great cake!. I have had many repeat requests every time I take it somewhere. I handle the glaze differently than the recipe with much better results. After I remove the cake and let it cool 20 minutes, I poke holes in the cake, make the glaze, then pour the glaze into the bundt pan and replace the cake in the pan. I let it sit another 20 minutes and then turn it out onto a cake round. All the glaze is absorbed and it gives a pretty finish to the crust. Then I sprinkle a few more finely chopped pecans over the top for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I have made this cake a few times now and have perfected it... First, try and use an angel food cake pan... I use a yellow cake mix with chocolate pudding mix- it gives the cake a color that doesnt look "cake box".. Use one cup of irish cream and make sure that mix for the entire 5 minutes.. For the glaze, add 1/2 shot of whisky (its not strong)- just adds a little extra kick. If you use the angel food pan, the top of the cake is easier to dress with the glaze. Use a chop stick to make 20-30 holes all around the top and pour glaze over- glaze will fall in nice drips along the side. You will NOT be dissapointed with this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is a very pretty, moist cake. The pecans definitely dress it up. It is delicately flavored, with just enough Bailey's to make you wonder what that unusual flavor is. Not overly sweet, great to serve as a coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I have made this cake twice now. Once for a dinner at work, and the other for an anniversary dinner for my parents. Both times it was a success, with lots of rave reviews. I have since passed this recipe on to several other women (and a few guys). I did follow another reviewer's suggestion and put the cake back into the pan to "soak" for about 20 minutes (I put approx 2/3 of the glaze in the cake pan...returned the cake...spooned the rest over the cake "bottom" and let it sit for about 20 minutes before removing it from the pan again. Gives the cake a good chance to soak in the glaze and you get a wonderful sugary crust on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made this cake last week based on reviews and took it to my hair salon. Understand that I don't like Irish Cream (such as the Bailey's that I used), but I thought it sounded interesting. About 30 minutes into getting my hair returned to its "natural" color, all of the hair stylists, the salon owner and 4 customers had tried the cake. You would have thought that I had baked the BEST cake ever in the history of the universe. Everyone raved and raved and raved. I have a home dessert business and I received 3 orders that day for this cake for Thanksgiving. Weird, because I still don't know how it tastes!! Everyone loved the glaze and the suggestion from another reviewer about putting the glaze in the pan and replacing the cake really gave the cake a nice chewy/cruncy crust. Thanks Sue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I made this cake last night for my coworker's birthday. The only change I made is that I used toasted macadamia nuts instead of the pecans. Otherwise I followed this recipe very closely. It turned out beautifully. As for the glaze, you have to gradually put it on or it will end up at the bottom on the dish. I poked plenty of holes in the cake with a skewer, spooned a little glaze around the top, then took my pastry brush and liberally brushed the inside hole and all around the outside of the cake. I waited a few minutes then repeated that process, then waited a few minutes and repeated again etc. until the glaze was gone. The glaze hardened into a nice, shiny somewhat crunchy, moist and tasty topping. The macadamia nuts were wonderful and really added nice texture. By the next morning when the cake had cooled it was very attractive and it was easy to box up and transport (with no frosting to worry about messing up). I think next time I would try a cheaper irish cream because Baileys is soooo very expensive. For sipping I think the quality of Baileys is essential but for baking I would think that a cheaper brand would suffice. Another thing that's wonderful about this cake - it is very quick and easy to put together. Cake mixes are wonderful in a pinch but everyone at work thinks this cake was made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
2/2006 - This is the best cake EVER!! I made this for New Year's and it was such a hit I had to make it again for my party today. I'm so glad that I did. The recipe is perfect just the way it is. Make sure to use all the glaze. It's not too much! 12/25/06 - I don't like it when people write a bad review and then change all of the ingredients. I really like this recipe as is BUT.... I wanted to make this today as a gift for a friend. I didn't have yellow cake mix, I only had sugar-free pudding mix, and I didn't have enough Bailey's. So I used chocolate cake mix, the sugar-free pudding mix, and Kahlua!! It was fantastic!!!! Remember, you really do need to use all of the glaze. Too many members here complained that they did not taste the alcohol. The flavor is in the glaze!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
ROCK-MY-SOCKS GOOD!!!!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and the reviews for the glaze- I poured about 2/3 of the glaze into the pan, put the cake back in- poked holes in the 'bottom' of the cake and poured the rest of the glaze over it. DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!! We took this to friends for dinner and it was a HIT! YUM! Thanks for this easy and delicious cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Great cake! I ran out of Irish cream for the glaze, so I substituted Kahlua instead. Worked just fine! I think next time I will leave off the nuts - seemed to take away from the Irish cream flavor a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
A good cake, but not outstanding. Needed only half the glaze. I made it for a ladies' luncheon and was disappointed that no one requested the recipe. Consensus was it was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States