Irish Cream Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious for St. Patricks Day gathering!....disappeared quickly!...used instant coffee for brewed coffee and followed suggestion using potato peeler on Hershey Bar and made chocolate curls instead of toffee bits. Next time I will cut the topping ingredients in half (did not use it all!).....and let the cake and icing cool a bit before spreading on brownie. Very close to 5 star!....Irish creme flavor was delicious....mmmmm! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I thought these were ok, nothing too spectacular. I guess for all the good reviews I was expecting something with more flavor. Maybe it was because of the box brownie mix. maybe it received such high ratings because it is easy, just not anything that made my mouth go WOW! Thanks for sharing, maybe I will try these again using another brownie from scratch recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So good! Made this for St Patty's Day but will not wait another year to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Completely amazing! Used dark chocolate with chocolate chunk brownie mixture & added some dried mint before baking. For frosting, didn't boil milk & Irish Cream & used 1/2 tsp finely ground coffee beans vs. 1 tsp brewed coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I only made the frosting from this recipe to top the "Best Brownies" recipe from this site. I boiled the milk, Irish cream, and coffee in a saucepan instead of in the microwave. I did have an issue with a film forming on the liquid (from the milk), which I had to remove. I followed a suggestion from another reviewer and placed this liquid mixture in the fridge for about 2 hours before adding to the butter mixture. I halved the sugar and I'm happy I did. It was just the perfect sweetness. This made just the right amount of frosting - enough for a light layer across a 9x13 pan of brownies. I liked the flavor of the frosting and it complemented the brownies well. I made this for a St. Patrick's Day potluck and they received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Meh. Made these for St. Paddy's Day. The frosting is the best part, but by no means would I consider it the "star" of the show (it's good, but not "stellar-out of this world-good"). The brownie part tastes just like that - a basic, fudgy brownie (I used Pillsbury fudge brownie mix). The Bailey's added nothing to the brownie itself and was a total waste of an expensive ingredient, IMHO. I could detect the slightest Irish cream taste in the frosting. It wasn't overpowering in the least and complemented the brownie nicely. NOTE: If you do not have brewed coffee to add to the frosting (like me), Kahlua works fine. My only other change was omitting the toffee chips. I didn't have any and they seemed out of place anyways. After having tried many frosted brownie recipes, I've come to the conclusion that I prefer mine plain. Basic brownies are delicious as is. They need no enhancements to make them better. My hubs and I agree that when the craving strikes, we'll stick with what works best. Thanks anyways, Kim! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Really good! I followed the recipe exactly except for the optional toffee baking bits. I didn't have any so I just sprinkled the top with a little green colored sugar. Not sure about the purpose of heating the coffee, liqueur and milk. As it cooled, it made a scum on top that I had to remove before using. The next time, I would make the icing without heating the liquids first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great Recipe, they were a big hit down in Bolivia for their first celebration of St. Patrick´s Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great way to make boxed brownies special. Next time I would add a bit more Baileys to the brownie mix...the flavor was not all that noticeable. I used 6 tblsp. of Baileys & 3 cups of powdered sugar and skipped the coffee in for the frosting. I used a little less than half of the frosting for the brownies and the rest for the "Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake" from this site. I also skipped the toffee baking bits and drizzled the brownies with chocolate ganache instead.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The pinch I had was amazing -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States