Irish Chicken and Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MollyMers
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used leeks, onion, left-over roast chicken and stock. Served with buttered Brussels sprouts and black pepper. No cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The proportions just really seem to be off and the lack of a thickening agent is something everybody seems to be fixing. I've made it twice---once according to the recipe and the second with some corrections. The recipe just needs work. I'll keep looking for a chicken leek pie, but this isn't staying in my recipe box. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lasky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I cooked this pie for my annual Friday night pie night for some boys and they loved it. I made a few tweaks and added lardons instead of sliced ham and I added everything to the chicken pot before putting it in the pie but the sauce, cant fault it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I think this recipe has great potential. Wish I had read the reviews first -- but instead I made it for a company potluck on St. Paddy's Day without reading them. My Mistake. The other reviewers have it right! I made a roux with the liquids I poured off and served it as a sauce over the remainder and it was quite good. I made it in an Oval stoneware dish and there was way way more than 6 servings with the ingredients it called for. I had leftovers that just wouldn't fit. Could easily do two pie pans. I like the whole shredded chicken approach mixing dark and light meat for flavors. I would definitely cut back to 2 leeks medium size and don't cut into the green at all. Sauteing in a little butter before hand with the onion also (cut back on that a bit too...) would render the whole pie a bit easier to fit in the dishes. Adding some other veg - peas/carrots even a pt of potato might work to help thicken the liquids. Someone mentioned flouring the chicken first - Depending on your chicken prep that would be good too. I think a Tbs or two dusted over would be enough to skip a prepared roux. You'll have butter from the sautee-ing but definitely cut back on the liquids. I'd say 1/2c of chicken broth and 1/2 c cream - added up front not after baking might do it - and then prepare a sauce with remaining liquids with a roux... just in case! Also the puff pastry sounds like a nice alternative. But even a pre-made crust will do. I just prefer making my own. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RReedd20

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
It came out awesome! i made a few changes, i cut up chicken breast instead of using a whole chicken and substituted turkey for the ham and also added an egg to the chicken stock to not make it soupy. i also followed the recipe for 6 people but separated it into two pie pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a recipe very similar to something my mom, born and raised in Ireland made for us growing up. We just call it Irish Pot Pie, lol. One thing we do is to coat the peices of chicken in flour with salt and pepper, which does help thicken up the sauce as it cooks. If it is still too runny, we just make up a bit of flour/water to thicken it a bit more. I also add some baby carrots, which makes it prettier. We also use pastry sheets, which we cook separately so it raises better..and put it on top after its all cooked. It does come out very well. I love this dish..one of my faves:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I make this often with different variations depending what's in the pantry and EVERY time it's a winner. A tin of sweet corn (reduce the stock) works - etc. FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Was really excited about trying this recipe. Although did not live up to expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made this for my family and, surprisingly, they all enjoyed it. I made a few changes though...I sauteed the leeks and onions in 1/2 a stick of butter. In a separate pot, I added an egg with the chicken stock and heated until thickened. Then I added the leeks & onions to it. I cut up the ham slices and layered it along with the cubed chicken and the leek mixture. Instead of using pie crust, I used puff pastry and just laid it across the top of the casserole. I turned the heat up to 375 degrees F. Next time I think I'll try making this in a 9x13 and covering the entire top with puff pastry so that each serving has its own little piece of puff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
the leek flavor overpowered this dish. and thats with adding way less leeks than said. it was like chicken soup with a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States