Irish Chicken and Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I haven't tried this yet but plan to. I will, however, lightly saute the onions and leeks in 2 tbsps of butter or marg and add 2 tbsps of flour. Let the flour cook for a couple minutes and then add the stock. This should help with the soupiness others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I can't rate this recipe because I haven't made it yet. But I do see why the other reviewers are saying it was runny. This is basically a quiche recipe without the eggs or cheese. There's too much chicken stock so the heavy cream doesn't have a chance to thicken or set. My suggestion would be to cut down on the chicken stock a bit and add an egg to the cream and stock mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
It came out awesome! i made a few changes, i cut up chicken breast instead of using a whole chicken and substituted turkey for the ham and also added an egg to the chicken stock to not make it soupy. i also followed the recipe for 6 people but separated it into two pie pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I cooked this pie for my annual Friday night pie night for some boys and they loved it. I made a few tweaks and added lardons instead of sliced ham and I added everything to the chicken pot before putting it in the pie but the sauce, cant fault it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I make this often with different variations depending what's in the pantry and EVERY time it's a winner. A tin of sweet corn (reduce the stock) works - etc. FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious! Thank you Amanda for sharing your fathers recipe with everyone. Best chicken pie I have ever tasted. Loved the contasting flavours of the ham and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MollyMers
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used leeks, onion, left-over roast chicken and stock. Served with buttered Brussels sprouts and black pepper. No cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a recipe very similar to something my mom, born and raised in Ireland made for us growing up. We just call it Irish Pot Pie, lol. One thing we do is to coat the peices of chicken in flour with salt and pepper, which does help thicken up the sauce as it cooks. If it is still too runny, we just make up a bit of flour/water to thicken it a bit more. I also add some baby carrots, which makes it prettier. We also use pastry sheets, which we cook separately so it raises better..and put it on top after its all cooked. It does come out very well. I love this dish..one of my faves:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made this for my family and, surprisingly, they all enjoyed it. I made a few changes though...I sauteed the leeks and onions in 1/2 a stick of butter. In a separate pot, I added an egg with the chicken stock and heated until thickened. Then I added the leeks & onions to it. I cut up the ham slices and layered it along with the cubed chicken and the leek mixture. Instead of using pie crust, I used puff pastry and just laid it across the top of the casserole. I turned the heat up to 375 degrees F. Next time I think I'll try making this in a 9x13 and covering the entire top with puff pastry so that each serving has its own little piece of puff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I am a food service director at a retirement facility & we made this recipe for our Men's Luncheon today. We did tighten the filling up as some readers suggested. We baked this as individual pies and used puff pastry to top them instead of pie crust. All 26 men loved this dish & have requested that we have it again. Someone suggested using egg in the sauce to tighten it & I would like to try that as I think it would also add some additional richness. Good flavors & an interesting mix w/ the chicken & ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States